VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am VERY new to the vegetarian lifestyle. Actually, I just transitioned into a non-meat eater yesterday because of moral/ethical reasons.

The thought of eating meat makes me feel absolutely repulsed. I literally start watering under my tongue thinking about it.

I cannot even think of drinking milk, it makes me truly ill.

Am I just being overzealous in my newbie-ness or do you also feel this way?

·
Registered
8,489 Posts
It's a very common thing for a lot of people when they are first starting out.

I know that when I first went veg*n, the smell of cooking meat made me horribly ill. I've gotten a bit better with this as time has gone on but I still catch myself being grossed out.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Yeah, I felt the same (still do a lot of the time). Occasionally though I'll have a random unconcious (sp?) thought that I'll try one of my kids chicken nuggets or have a bit of DH's spag bol then I remember I don't eat it anymore! Totally weird-lol.

·
Registered
684 Posts
Quote:
Occasionally though I'll have a random unconcious (sp?) thought that I'll try one of my kids chicken nuggets or have a bit of DH's spag bol then I remember I don't eat it anymore! Totally weird-lol.
I get those too! Haha, good to know someone else does, too.

The the OP- I find beef and pork disgusting to look at, smell, etc., but chicken and fish don't bother me as much.

·
Registered
177 Posts
I love the taste of meat, I love burgers, a steak, chicken on the grill, etc., etc. But when I think about the suffering it's caused, yes, it disgusts me.

This is kind of silly, but I carry the leaflet from PETA's Vegetarian starter kit with me, so if I feel tempted to eat meat, I just take it out, skim it over, and come back to my senses

·
Registered
1,691 Posts
I never really got that feeling. Being surrounded by omnis, it's something I knew I was going to have to deal with.