VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
609 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I'm a new vegetarian working on going vegan (still trying to kick the dairy habit). Here's the deal, though: I'm exceedingly poor, as I am also a college student. Mostly my diet switch has actually been easier on my wallet - meat is derned expensive. I'm a little worried I'm not getting the protein I need, though, and I realized yesterday I'm not getting as many calories as I need either. What are some foods that are really nutrient-packed for my buck? What are your favorites?

·
Registered
4,819 Posts
Well, not sure if this'd be all the nutrients or nutrient packed, but on a good day of eating for me I have something like this:

1 can of fruit (or 2-3apples, 1-2 bannanas)

1 soy burger (with tomato/lettuce/soy cheese/homemade BBQ sauce on a homemade bun)

2 cups Steamed Broccoli/Cauliflower

Ok, to make it smaller or more cost effective, if possible buy in bulk (ex: SAMS club) for some items (12 pack of tomato paste for $5, it's $1 for a small can at my local store, 1gal of canola oil is about $5 also, compared to $3 at a local store). If you can't make your own food, it'd be a lot harder... Hope you like nuts and fresh veggies, and fruits (canned too).

As far as calories... how many's not enough? are you losing a lot of weight?

Well that was probably completely helpless... oh well, I could give better ideas if I knew if you had a kitchen to work in, or just a microwave.

·
Registered
4,211 Posts
For protein, textured soy protein might do. It's kinda like ground beef, but its soy, and it's packed w/ protein. Cheap as chips and a great meat replacement. (It is great if you do miss meat.)

Nuts or nut butters: Protein & fat are found in nuts & nut butters so they're great.