• I eat honey but limit it

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I won't eat honey

• I won't eat honey because of the bees

• I will eat processed sugar with no reservations

• I try to avoid processed sugar (implies bone carcoal filtration)

• I won't eat processed sugar (implies bone carcoal filtration)

• I am fastidious about trace animal products used

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
811 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a Vegan newbie, I am still sorting out my feelings about sugar and honey. I try to use organicly processed cane juice. I know that many sugars are filtered through bone charcoal, and that does affect my thoughts, although I suspect that those products are used because they are a cheap by-product of the slaughter industry, and would probably be replaced with something else if it wasn't so cheap.

I also haven't begun to process my thoughts about honey and the bees. I give my child egg whites that I get from a woman who rasies her egg hens (has 'em named and everything and sometimes have to collect the eggs from under the brush), and I really don't have a problem feeding those to her, although I am eschewing them myself. In other words, I don't feel that stress is place on the hens, nor does it hurt them to gather and consume them in this manner. I can't seem to extrapolate my feelings about this to make up my own mind on the honeybees.

Regarding the issue of honeybees replacing native bees, we have the Aficanized bees here (San Antonio, TX), and we are worried about losing our nice honeybees to these imports.

Could I please get some VeggieBoard feedback on these two items? I would really rather have personal opinions than articles when it comes to these issues. Where do you stand on these and why?

Thanks,

EquiPro

·
Registered
2,301 Posts
Equipro -