VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone... my first post here, lots of good info in this forum...

Well, to start off I was drawn to vegetarianism about 4 years ago for environmental reasons, I studied alot of ecological footprint and life-cycle analysis and came across a lot of well-known information linking the environment to our diets. Yes, I've read the Fast Food Nations and the Mad Cowboys also... my main concerns about my diet have always been linked to environmental vegetarianism and do not feel as strongly about the ethical, health, or various other angles, but I respect those who do greatly. I am an ovo-lacto vegetarian so right away I don't feel like a true environmental vegetarian, but I try.

The reason I post today is that I am curious if anyone else who is vegetarian stricly on the basis of environmental impact finds it difficult sometimes to feel like it is always more beneficial for the earth to be veg. I have found that environmental vegetarianism is very debatable if you look at many different viewpoints and keep an open mind. I know people who have had the same view as me, having a environmentally low-impact diet was a good thing, and then changing their mind.

They argued some of the following:

- The "consumption of land" is a weak argument against ranchers alone, agribusiness in many parts of the world has led to environmental degradation, loss of topsoil, etc on a massive scale.

- The ecological gains (in terms of GHGs) of a vegetarian diet are easily outweighed by decisions to drive a car everyday and go on vacation, so it is more important to focus on these issues

- Many parts of the world are much better suited to ranching and if coverted and tilled for agriculture much more environmental degradation would occur

...and so on