VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi there! i'm a new vegetarian. i started about three weeks ago and am having a few concerns. i'm a broke college student living on campus and (surprise surprise) my school doesn't offer too many appealing vegetarian options. as a result, i've taken to doing my own grocery shopping and i'm slowly coming up with creative ways to feed myself. i'm worried about my overall nutrition now, though. how can i keep protein in my diet? also, can anyone suggest any dietary supplements i may need to consider now that i've cut out meat altogether?

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

·
Registered
3,097 Posts
Protein should actually be the least of your worries. Unless you're a pro body builder or something it's hard to become deficient. That doesn't mean you shouldn't keep an eye on what you eat, but unless you just munch on lettuce all the time you'll probably get above the recommended adult levels.

I'd suggest this list of nutrients, why they're important and their sources. It's a list for vegans, but these are nutrients all humans require and a vegetarian should keep an eye on these things too.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Do you have a stove? microwave? hot plate? Toaster oven?

You probably don't need to worry about protein so much, it's pretty easy to get the rdi! Greek yogurt & cottage cheese both have tons (if you're still eating dairy), nuts and seeds, beans, lentils, tofu. Im pretty new too, and my big worry is iron. So for that I eat tons of pumpkin seeds (also very protein-y!) beans, lentils, and lots of dark leafy greens!

·
Registered
45 Posts
You should be protein conscious, but not worried. Maybe take a few days to log your food intake so you'll know if you need to adjust the diet. There are some good soy isolate protein supplements out there if you need to go that route. If you eat eggs, you should be set with a few every morning (super cheap too).