VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All-

Newbie here who has been at the vegetarian thing for several years now, but has only now begun to fully "come out of the closet," so to speak. Anyone else have a similar experience? I found that it was something I was actually kind of "hiding" (or at least not explicitly stating) for quite some time. But needless to say, the people I'm closest to did slowly but surely begin to notice... And now I just have no choice but to accept myself for what I am!

Anyway, my personal journey toward this lifestyle has been very gradual and organic (ha!), starting about three years ago with an "everything is wrong" crisis that I know a lot of you will be familiar with. I began to get overwhelmed by the amount of cruelty and suffering we as human beings are capable of, and what I perceived to be the complete inevitability of our individual complicity in so much of it, simply by nature of being a living, breathing, consuming member of an organized society. So after sinking into a brief period of despair, I decided to instead be constructive and do whatever I could reasonably do on a daily basis to reduce the amount of suffering that my personal existence causes in the world. If everyone did that, just think what an infinitely better place this planet would be.

And there you have it. Needless to say, I'm happy to have found this forum for discussion and the exchange of ideas. Each day is a journey in which I learn areas where I can be making certain improvements, and it's great to hear about other people that are on the same road.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Hello and welcome!