VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quote:
ROCKVILLE, Maryland (CNN) -- I am a scientist and a believer, and I find no conflict between those world views.

As the director of the Human Genome Project, I have led a consortium of scientists to read out the 3.1 billion letters of the human genome, our own DNA instruction book. As a believer, I see DNA, the information molecule of all living things, as God's language, and the elegance and complexity of our own bodies and the rest of nature as a reflection of God's plan.
http://www.cnn.com/2007/US/04/03/col...ary/index.html

Have any of you read his book, The Language of God: A Scientist Presents Evidence for Belief? Any thoughts on it, or this short article? I'm thinking of checking out the book myself sometime.

Perhaps this should be in the Compost Heap... Feel free to move it if necessary.

·
Registered
3,984 Posts
I liked the article, and wasn't surprised to read the influence of C.S.Lewis

("I had always assumed that faith was based on purely emotional and irrational arguments, and was astounded to discover, initially in the writings of the Oxford scholar C.S. Lewis and subsequently from many other sources, that one could build a very strong case for the plausibility of the existence of God on purely rational grounds ")

and Kierkegaard ("But reason alone cannot prove the existence of God. Faith is reason plus revelation, and the revelation part requires one to think with the spirit as well as with the mind. You have to hear the music, not just read the notes on the page. Ultimately, a leap of faith is required.")

in his conversion.

I've noticed that the more I learn about the world in the various studies of knowledge, the more understanding it brings, and the more it reveals of God. Everything from philosophy to language to chemistry genetics and physics. It's amazing. If anything, science points more toward God than away.