VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6,112 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by soilman View Post

Huh? When I was a fulltime student back in 1965-1967 I did NOT have any insurance coverage from the school. None whatsoever. When I got even the slightest illness, the school infirmary took care of only the most emergency problems, and then said get your own doctor with your own or your family's money or insurance. Again, the insurance I have now covers everything but dental care. I already took care of my hernias, and my stomach ulcers and am taking care of my prostate and my pain, with this insuarance. But all the dental insurance will cover is emergency extraction of teeth and leaving me with dangerously shifting other teeth.
I don't know about other states but in MA insurance is mandatory and if the student doesn't have it then you'll get signed on to the school's medical plan. You still have to pay for it though but grants can cover it. Five years ago it was around 5-600 a year and now it's almost 900. We don't get dental.

Quote:
" I am sure you would do great in school."

I am not. I am articulate. The kind of ability required to do well in school is very different. I am not sure that I am not "learning-disabled" in that regard. I find it confusing to try and take more than 1 course at once, and often find that I have to do 12 times as much homework, for one course, as the amount the instructors suggest is needed. I timed it.
From reading your posts this past year I can see how you could have a problem with a large course load. At the same time, your type of "smarts" would be such an advantage.

·
Registered
6,112 Posts
Quote:

So why name a variable t, for time, when you can name it time? Why say d/t=v when you can say distance/time = velocity? I'll forget what the t stands for, if you name it t.