So, I decided to go vegan from vegetarian yesterday, and I am very very happy with my decision, BUT how do I get vegan chocolate? Do they make vegan chocolate thats not dark? Or would that just not make sense.
All chocolate starts vegan being the fruit from a tree. If you are talking about chocolate milk like chocolate, just get the bitter-sweet powder, mix it with soy milk or rice milk and add sweetner. I am a fan of Green & Black, so I will talk about that. Green & Black and others produce excellent chocolates. I believe vegan. They are more expensive than vending machine chocolates, but the bars are huge! They are also non-exploitive. Here is info from a place that sells other Vegan products:
Green & Black is available at Target, Wild Oats, and various other natural/organic places (whe have them here at the regular market).
I believe when you go Vegan, you have to adjust your taste somewhat and learn to love foods other than you are used to. This is really great chocolate. When I am in the mood for chocolate, I never get the cheap stuff any more.
It's vegan but still has the mouthfeel of milk chocolate. It's slightly more bitter than milk, but it's soooo much better than Hersheys. You can usually find this chocolate at a chain grocerystore like Safeway. They even sell Lindt at Target, Walmart, and Walgreens.
A forum community dedicated to vegetarian, vegans, and vegetable enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about agriculture, preparation, cooking, recipes, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!