Lipase is an enzyme made in the pancreas. It is usually of animal origin, but there are plant sources for it. The best thing to do would be to contact the manufacturer of the cheese to find out it's source.
It was in Kraft products. I found that there were microbial enzymes in the cheese that is part of those Cheese & Crackers snack pack things, and in the cheese powder mix that's in the Kraft Dinner mac&cheese stuff, but still both say there is Lipase in there too.
It could be microbial, it could be animal. I'd try emailing the company, or...ditching the packaged stuff or cheese in general. You do know that whey is problematic for the same reason cheese is, right?
Essentially, whey is what's left over when cheese is curdled. Sometimes, a label will list "vegetarian whey powder", but if it just says "whey" with no mention of the product being suitable for vegetarians, you may want to check.
I took the time to search those threads, and read them. But I was looking for specific information on lipase and the most I found in those topics was to deal with rennet only. That's why I thought it best to create a new thread.
Thank you, was hoping there might be some way to tell which foods had the animal or microbial enzymes in them without having to get on the phone or send out an email. I find all this a bit confusing and some of the replies I've gotten leave me with more questions than answers...
A forum community dedicated to vegetarian, vegans, and vegetable enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about agriculture, preparation, cooking, recipes, scales, reviews, accessories, classifieds, and more!