VeggieBoards banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I know carrageenan comes from seaweeds. That's vegan. But is that the same as "calcium carrageenan"? or is that some other form that isn't vegan?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
Near as I can tell, this is still from seaweed. Now... whether they use processing methods that are not vegan, I'm not sure.

Here's a geekspeak tech paper written about carrageenan that may or may not help... they don't speak to calcium carrageenan except in a reference at the end. I only scanned it but thought it was still better at explaining generalities of carrageenan than other sites further up the search engine response. http://www.fao.org/docrep/X5822E/x5822e05.htm

Oh... and it so happens that one of the paragraphs toward the end I happened to scan had this sentence which made me crack up:

"Barring political upheavals in the harvesting regions the industry can remain assured of adequate supplies of good quality weed at reasonable prices."

Oh and:

http://householdproducts.nlm.nih.gov...l=chem&id=2714

had a couple of other "go-by" names for this item.

Sorry that I'm not of more help.
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
Top