VeggieBoards banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to the vegatarian terms (ovo-lacto, vegan ect...) So I may sound completely ignorant when I ask this but...

I've been breastfeeding my son since the day he was born (he's nine months) and my husband and myself have tried to maintain a vegatarian lifestyle since he then. I was told by a friend of mine who is vegan that breast feeding is not vegatarian since he is drinking the milk of a animal. Is this true? I believe that breast milk is the best thing that I could give my son nutritionally so whatever the answer is will not make me change my decision to continue I just want to know whether that is true or not.

·
Registered
2,907 Posts
I don't understand why your friend would say breastmilk is not vegan. I am a vegan, my son is vegan and he breastfed exclusivly. My son relied on my body. My breasts were able to lactate for the purpose of sustaining his life. I think that drinking milk from another animal (such as a cow or goat ect) is unnatural, but certainly not milk from my own body secifically designed for my son. l'm glad to know that you will continue to breastfeed.

·
Registered
1,785 Posts
I breastfed my middle son until he was nearly three...I highly recommend going that long, if you are inclined...

I wouldn't worry about whether or not it's vegan - it is totally natural and healthy.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
I think that drinking milk from another animal (such as a cow or goat ect) is unnatural, but certainly not milk from my own body secifically designed for my son.