VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All-

Newbie here, and I have to say I'm really enjoying reading the discussions on these boards. Such a wealth of information out there! Got me to thinking: what are the things that have really shocked you as you've struggled to live out your commitment to your chosen lifestyle? Meaning, the things that you never would have guessed rely on animal products or horrific industries for their production. For me, two of the biggest unpleasant discoveries (that I never saw coming) were rennet and the whole bone char thing. And related to that, I remember reading an article a few years ago about wine filtration and how even some types of wine contain animal products, which I found truly shocking at the time.

Interestingly, I was never really shocked by any of the revelations regarding the flavor industry, and the lack of any real meaning to their "natural" and "artificial" flavoring distinctions.

So anyway, I'd be really interested in hearing from others. Who knows, maybe the things that have shocked or surprised you will be unknown to me and others around here.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
I was shocked by the prevalence of gelatin. It's in EVERYTHING.

I was also shocked to learn that fish is actually vegetarian. At least it is according to numerous restaurants and so-called vegetarian acquaintances of mine.

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Guinness Stout

Gelatin on coffee beans

(actually, discovering all that contains gelatin continues to surprise me)

Learning that "natural flavors" on an ingredients label can mean that something that appears to be vegetarian or vegan actually has some form of dead animal in it.

Discovering that Thai "vegetarian" soups and dishes often contain chicken broth.

Learning that the refried beans and rice at Mexican restaurants almost always have lard and chicken broth in them.