VeggieBoards banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to make a Veggie Bean soup that is Not thick so when I get sick I can have some instead of a can of soup. I really don't want to fry this and that in olive oil. would it be better just to make the soup and then when you get ready to eat it put a tablespoon of olive oil in it. Anyway I'm 68 years old and it I don't start eating right I'm not going to make 69. I'm too depressed to cook so I figure I cook or I die. I'm cleaning out my kitchen and I'm going to start eating right starting with making a bean veggie soup and I'm a lousy cook. Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,099 Posts
I would like to make a Veggie Bean soup that is Not thick so when I get sick I can have some instead of a can of soup. I really don't want to fry this and that in olive oil. would it be better just to make the soup and then when you get ready to eat it put a tablespoon of olive oil in it. Anyway I'm 68 years old and it I don't start eating right I'm not going to make 69. I'm too depressed to cook so I figure I cook or I die. I'm cleaning out my kitchen and I'm going to start eating right starting with making a bean veggie soup and I'm a lousy cook. Any advice would be appreciated.
I'd get a slow cooker/crock pot.

Chop everything and put it in, turn it on and serve when the time is up. Easy. Then store in your fridge for around five days.

You don't need to add oil, unless you want to for flavour. In which case go right ahead and drizzle it over the top of your bowl of soup (I do this with minestrone).

If you don't want it thick, just add more water or stock till it's the consistency you like.

·
Super Moderator
8,957 Posts
I don't use any oil in my soups.