VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Banned
13,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looks like the Tame One could be under the knife in the near future.

X-rays confirmed what I have suspected - degenerative disc disease. Seems my vertebrae will be getting up and close and personal with each other over time.

I'm down to physical therapy, epidurals, and surgery (fusion of my two lowest vertebrae) as options.

Yich.

·
Registered
4,049 Posts
epidurals? like the "hoo-ee gawd these contractions are a beeyotch gimme somethin' NOW doc" variety?

yeow.

sorry to hear that, sugar.
will surgery correct the problem somewhat?

·
Registered
8,451 Posts
Tame:

I'm no expert, but often the physical therapy--and other physical avenues can help you avoid back surgery and decrease your need for epis (are you going with the steroids or the narcs?).

I have a number of clients with various back problems: Degen. Disc, Ruputred and Herniated discs. They do very well with yoga--the ruputred and herniated discs can get to 100% in a few months or a year (in my experience so far).

So, if you can find a well trained yoga instructor in your area (try Yoga Journal's online directory at yogajournal.com and Yoga Alliance at yogaalliance.com), i would highly recommend a practice!

·
Banned
13,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Zoe - thanks for the advice. Hhhmmm...the Tame One in yoga...maybe not a bad idea.

As far as the discs - nothing is ruptured or herniated - they are simply disappearing.

I'm going to give PT a shot, and then I may try the yoga route. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,626 Posts