VeggieBoards banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It doesnt say on the packet, and it just says 'flavourings' but not what!

Just wondered if any1 knows for sure?!

Its just the orginal ones if that helps!

Thanks!!

 
Joined
·
11,550 Posts
In the UK starburst don't contain gelatine, (they do in the states though) so while you're in Britain, you're ok on that front! The general consensous that i've always heard is that in the UK, they're ok.

You could always email them about the 'flavourings' issue, if it worries you.

From what i remember, Jellytots used to be ok too, but i haven't had them in a few years, so they might have changed. Apparently nestle (if you don't have ethical issues with nestle) has fruit polos listed as vegan on their website too
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,090 Posts
I was going to say, you must not be from the United States....

United States Starbursts not vegetarian. UK Starbursts vegan.

However, the Starbursts Jelly Beans are vegan in all countries!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,670 Posts
I don't care for starburst, but it makes absolutely NO sense to me why they wouldn't just use the UK formulation in Canada.

Mr. meatless bought some vegan UK starburst at the Toronto Vegetarian Food Fair. He enjoyed them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
469 Posts
As far as I can remember, the starburst jelly beans (in Ireland, which I assume is the same as the UK) contain shellac.

I also recently bought some fruit polos, only to find they use carmine in them.

But you're better off checking labels whereever you are, I suppose.

Cheers!
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top