VeggieBoards banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
684 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know? I did a search on google but I couldn't find anything... Does it depend on the brand? I got a free candy cane at school, and I don't know whether I should eat it or give it to someone else.

Thanks everyone!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,182 Posts
They should just be made out of sugar, corn syrup, peppermint oil, FD&C Red 40, and titanium dioxide. All of which should be vegan, although I don't know about the sugar. This is assuming it's your standard issue red/white candy cane and not of the fancy flavored/colored ones. I say eat it.

~Wondre
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
898 Posts
You can't be sure that the sugar isn't bone-chared though. But other than that they are usually vegan.

Pure Fun makes vegan candy canes! (i think Bob's might be vegan too).

http://www.purefun.ca/

A store near me sells the Pure Fun candy canes. So I am a happy girl!

(Outpost Natural Foods here in Milwaukee, WI)

You can also buy them at Vegan Essentials web site! (I think they are on backorder right now though)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
531 Posts
better question... does anyone know of any red/white candy canes that are NOT vegan? (i'm given a bunch of candy canes randomly, so I never know the brand, therefore I can't check...)
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top