VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
204 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My boyfriend and I recieved a gift card to Chilis restaurant and I've never been there. Do you know what entrees are vegan OR can be easily made vegan?

I'm really shy about asking the waiters if something has cheese in it or what not, so I thought I'd ask you guys first!

Thanks a bunch!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
51 Posts
I haven't been to a chili's since I went vegan but I copied this from a site. "Chili's: The salsa and chips is obviously vegan. In addtion, you can order the veggie quesadillas without cheese or sour cream and the cadillac fajitas without meat."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
820 Posts
All the salads can be made Vegan if you leave off the meat, the cheese and ask for a dairy-free dressing.

I'm pretty sure the Black Bean burger contains cheese, which is unfortunate because it is quite tasty.

The fajitas can be made Vegan. The chips and salsa are also Vegan.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,182 Posts
The steamed veggies usually come with a buttery sauce, so watch out for that. AFAIK, the fries are vegan.

~Wondre
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
820 Posts
I didn't know that, Penny79. I usually stay away from rice dishes when eating out, so I think I've always told them no rice. Thanks for the confirmation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
I'm not sure, but try not to be shy.
Most servers are very nice about answering questions and accomodating different diets!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8,489 Posts
They have a "guiltless black bean burger". you could get it without the low-fat ranch and the parmesan cheese.

you could get the lettuce wraps, minus the chicken.

you could pretty much veganize any of their salads, i think.

asks about their "soups of the day" and see what's up with those.

tomato basil pasta, without the chicken and parmesan cheese.

they have the tostado chips with the salsa.

their website has a menu with some of the ingredients listed but you'd probably have to talk to someone in person to get detailed information.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12,079 Posts
I'm thinking the flour tortilla and pita are safe...not sure though...then you get them to grill you some mushrooms (or even a portobello) and onions in a little oil. Add some steamed veggies. I'd be good to go.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
They will also make any burger a portabella burger for you. Although I do not know if their buns are vegan. The portabella burgers are quite tasty though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
The portabella burger is not on the menu but all of the Chilis I have been to will sub it if you ask when ordering without a problem.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
34,591 Posts
You're in luck! I e-mailed the company a few months ago and here's what they said:

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us an email and for your interest in Chili's. Our corporate dietitian has compiled the list below of Chili's vegan/vegetarian menu suggestions. Please be aware that none of our food items are certified vegetarian. Additionally, many of our recipes contain meat, fish, egg and dairy products and normal kitchen operations involve the sharing of cooking and preparation areas, including common fryer oil. Therefore, it is possible for any food item, including French Fries and/or Chips, to come into contact with animal products during preparation and/or

cooking processes.

Based on our supplier information, the vegan items you may consider are as follows:

? Corn Tortillas

? Salad without cheeses, meats, fried tortilla strips or croutons (choose dressings below

only)

? Citrus Balsamic Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

? Low-fat Vinaigrette Salad Dressing

? Pico de Gallo

? Salsa Picante

? Rice

? Guacamole

? Black Beans

? Steamed Veggies Corn on the Cob, Broccoli, and/or Fresh Veggies (request no oil

or butter)

? Sliced Tomatoes, Onions and/or Bell Pepper (raw)

? Marinara Sauce

? Kiddie Wheat Bun

** Please note that our Black Bean burger is not vegan friendly and contains dairy ingredients (patty).

On your next visit to Chili's, please speak with a manager about your dietary restrictions to ensure that your meal is carefully prepared with your needs in mind. We hope that you are able to choose a meal to your liking and look forward to serving you soon. We will forward your suggestions to our Culinary department for their consideration and review.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
Wow, thanks for posting that. I just wanted to chime in real quick and this confirmed my thoughts. Most flour tortillas you buy at the stores and at restaurants (unless they're a mexican restaurant, but ask still) contain some kind of dairy. I don't know why since all a tortilla is, is flour, salt, baking powder and shortening. Healthy, no, but vegan, yes when you make them yourselves. Or just be very thorough when reading the ingredients.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
34,591 Posts
You're welcome!

I don't even go to real mexican restaurants... the only thing I can ever eat there are the tortilla chips (I'm a vegetarian). It's nasty how they put chicken stock in the rice (often) and lard in the beans. Yuck Yuck Yuck.

I think restaurants should have a seperate vegan/vegetarian menu. I get lost reading some menus...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
344 Posts
I wondered about the black bean burger patty. Last time I went and asked the server and he said it did not contain dairy so I ordered it. I guess he didn't know, didn't bother to find out or both. Next time I'm forced to go there I'll just stick with steamed veggies and chips n salsa.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
491 Posts
ive had the black bean burgers sub'd in for a few of the regular ones. it turned out really good. you could order without cheese. i think somone here mentioned that they had cheese in the black bean patties? ill be sure to ask next time were there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
There are NO vegan options at Chillis. I asked the chef in a Florida Chillis in Feb 2014 if there were any vegan options, and he said there is nothing he can make without butter besides a salad. Even though I specified I was a vegan, and allergic to dairy products while ordering the Vegetable Fajitas, they served it to me anyway, and when I asked what the food was cooked it they told me it was butter, and they do not cook anything with oil.
 

·
Not such a Beginner ;)
Joined
·
8,394 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slc825 View Post

There are NO vegan options at Chillis. I asked the chef in a Florida Chillis in Feb 2014 if there were any vegan options, and he said there is nothing he can make without butter besides a salad. Even though I specified I was a vegan, and allergic to dairy products while ordering the Vegetable Fajitas, they served it to me anyway, and when I asked what the food was cooked it they told me it was butter, and they do not cook anything with oil.
I couldn't find anything vegan at Chili's a few years ago, I remember. It was a terrible place anyway.
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top