VeggieBoards banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took a volunteer job at a local theatre as a props mistress....sounds sexy, huh? My only problem, I'm a theatre novice. A friend owns the theatre and thinks it will be a good place for me to meet people so, I said, COOL, I'll try.

My first show starts this fall, and it's a musical called HELLO AGAIN, based on the play LA RONDE by Arthur Schnitzler.

It's full of sex and nudity through several eras, and I have to decide what props would be appropriate.

Anybody familiar with the play? I've read it, and listened to the score and have some ideas, but suggestions are WELCOME...

Thx.

·
Registered
1,780 Posts
I wish I could be of a bit more help... I don't know the play, but I also have a volunteer job as a props mistress at a local theatre group. Scary!

Anyhoo... what's the play about? Any particular scenes you're having problems coming up with stuff for? I'd be happy to help

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Basically it's about SEX...nah, seriously it's about personal relationships throughout time in a circular sort of way - starts with a hooker and a soldier and ends up with a hooker and a soldier kind of thing. Sort of "story remains the same, regardless of the time" situation.

After reading and doing a little net research, I'm thinking that fewer props might be better since the focus of the play is on the people and the relationships.

Whooo knows?

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
I've seen the play before, but can't recommend any props b/c I don't know the director's theme. If the director is going for minimalist modernism, you probably won't need many props. If the director is doing a period piece, you'll need props from that time frame.