VeggieBoards banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i just wanted to say hi, im new to being vegetarian, i just started today. i wanted to know does anyone have any suggestions on what books i should read, or vitamins i should take , and how to deal with family that might be negative and not like the idea of me being vegetarian. anything would be helpful. But i just would like to say hi, and im really excited and thanks for having me here. By the way im 26yrs old.

veggiemom80

·
Registered
7,858 Posts
hi! welcome to VB and congratulations on choosing vegetarianism!

if you are still eating eggs and dairy, you shouldn't need any vitamins as long as you eat healthily. However, when I was lacto-ovo and even when I ate meat I took a multivitamin just to cover my bases and this might be a good idea.

I've heard the book 'Living Among Meat Eaters' mentioned often, which might be an answer to both of your last two queries. I haven't read it though so I can't personally reccommend it.

·
Ankle Biter
9,333 Posts
Hi! A vegetarian multi-vitamin is always a good idea. But make sure it says "vegetarian" or you might get gelatin in your vitamins. A couple of books you may want to read are "The China Study" by T. Colin Campbell, and books by John Robbins - "The Food Revolution" and "Diet for a New America". You will find good recipes in our recipe threads. Please feel free to jump on any of the threads here, and ask questions. Becoming vegetarian is a journey and you will find some days easier than others. But you'll always find support here!

Welcome to VB!

·
Registered
1,320 Posts
Welcome to VeggieBoards!
Congrats on your desicion!