VeggieBoards banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am new to being vegetarian- 6 mths now. I do not know much about the fake meat substitutes available and am in a small town so it limits what I can buy at local health food store-though they can order special items if I knew what to ask for. I am wondering if there is a fake beef type substitute? Like a roast beef type? I want to make fake shredded beef and bean burritos . Also I wonder is there a fake chicken product out there that I can make casseroles with? I have only been able to find fake friedor breaded chicken so far and that would not work in my Mexican burritos or casseroles.I am hoping for these items to be canned not frozen since all the frozen ones I find are fried or breaded and I want a fresh type product to use in recipes.I guess I am looking for stuff that resembles uncooked meat?Does that exist?I am already using Morningstar Grillers and Boca products ,nutritional yeast,TVP - the stores have that at least and I found some fake bacon and ham but really would love if you guys could help me with the fake chicken and beef if it exists! Thanks,Tammie

ps sorry so long!

·
Registered
4,965 Posts
Welcome, bettyspaghetti!
I don't know of any faux shredded beef products, but you could use Boca or MorningStar Farms burger crumbles, which is faux hamburger. Even though it's not exactly what you want, it should work just fine. I use it in chili, spaghetti, tacos, etc. I'm vegan, and these products are two of the few that are. Congrats on going veg!

·
Registered
12,374 Posts
Faux ground beef is relatively common, though I've never seen faux shredded beef.

Look for LightLife or Yve's veggie ground round products. I add them to spaghetti all the time.

·
Registered
295 Posts
Try this for chicken:

http://www.vegieworld.com/h005/h005.htm