VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've eaten these two to the point of saturation.

Given that I'm new to being meat-free, what else can I find that is easy to find in the likes of Tesco, Asda and Morrisons, etc?

I've eaten pretty much all I can find in these ranges and would like to dabble with something different.

Little help?

·
Registered
297 Posts
The best thing to do is try cooking your own food from scratch. It's so easy to do and is so much cheaper.

For instance, I cook a sweet chilli stew which includes parsnips, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, carrots, onions and kidney beans with chilli powder and stock. It's delicious, and once you've cut up the veg, you're free to do whatever you want for the time it takes to cook.

There's loads of recipes in the recipes section of this board. Are you veggie or vegan? Pasta with sauces are really versatile, and sauces can often be made in batches and frozen. Cous cous take minutes to cook, literally. You can either do your own and add whatever you like, or buy ready made ones that you just add water to.

HTH,
Sarah

·
Registered
888 Posts
Redwoods has some pretty good stuff, you can get it from Holland and Barrett chilled section. (also unlike quorn and some LM stuff it's vegan and saw on the other thread you were interested in doing some vegan dabbling
)

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrillia View Post

The best thing to do is try cooking your own food from scratch. It's so easy to do and is so much cheaper.

For instance, I cook a sweet chilli stew which includes parsnips, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, carrots, onions and kidney beans with chilli powder and stock. It's delicious, and once you've cut up the veg, you're free to do whatever you want for the time it takes to cook.