VeggieBoards banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So normally I make my own soup, because most canned soup frankly sucks. But I always keep a can or two around for when I don't feel up to cooking.

Tonight I opened a can of Natural Value Organic Corn Pottage soup, which was clearly labeled vegan, and tasted it. It tasted kinda weird, so I checked the ingredients: nonfat dry milk and honey! The honey thing, maybe I could understand, but how in the world does MILK count as vegan?!

Just a reminder that it always pays to check the ingredients.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,211 Posts
If the company has labelled it as vegan, and it contains honey AND milk, you should contact the company, because this is prtyy mcuh outrageous.

And why would honey be in soup?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
412 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Check it out (under Organic Soups):

http://www.naturalvalue.com/ingredients.htm

This company is seriously whacked. Their site doesn't say vegan, but the label certainly does. From my research it appears the product has since been discontinued, but they seem to use honey and milk in a few other things that could very well be labeled vegan. I'll have to look the next time I go shopping.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Top