VeggieBoards banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I just introduced myself on a previous board, and thought I would open up with the things that brought me to this forum, in looking for support and ideas to make this all a more permanent thing for me....I would like to thank all in advance for reading on. I cannot do this without help, I am realizing.

First things first, I am very new to this. I gave up meat for Lent this year (not a true Catholic, but always admired the idea) and have stuck with it now past my 40 days. Recently, I have been contemplating the hope of keeping the change permanent. That is why I am here. With all of this said, it is probably useless to continue without a little about me.

I am now 26 and moved to US from New Zealand (North Island) 4 months ago, in order to move forward in my job and to see a great new place. I was an "omni" as you apparently call it all of my life until this Spring. As a kid, we grew up on a lot of land, and largely lived off of what it gave us. My parents weren't poor per se, but stores weren't very close, and hunting and fishing was just "how it was done" as a child. I saw my first deer skinned in front of me as a toddler I am sure. I could do it myself by 12 or so. If this is off-putting to some, I apologize. I figure one cannot empathize or contribute to what one does not understand, thus this explanation.

Making almost 20 years of my life very short, eating animals was part of our existence. I can count on one hand the number of times we bought meat from another person. I think one gets the picture....but here is what has been killing me so much lately.