VeggieBoards banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was reading the thread about how much people spend a week, and I saw a lot of posts about people spending 40-50 a week. I was wondering if people could post what a typical menu for a week like that would look like? I am new to being vegan (though been a vegetarian for years) and removing cheese has changed my entire menu. I didn't realize just how much of the stuff I was consuming. But anyway, now that I have changed how I am eating, I'm not sure how to keep it budget friendly right now. I'm definitely going way over my budget each week right now. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
81 Posts
Hi
I'm really working on getting my budget down too. Aside from don't eat out something I hear alot and tend to agree with is stick with beans, grains, fruits, and veggies as your staples. A book that's totally helped me is called Vegan On The Cheap by Robin Robertson. It's taught me how to make so much from scratch whitch is cheaper like seitan, cheese sauce, mayo, and sour cream. Another thing tha'ts cool about the book is it gives a cost per serving of each recipe. Here is my menu from yesterday. Today's menu has an Amy's dinner as a treat whitch is not cheap.
breakfast 1/2c rolled oats with 1c water made in the microwave. I then add 1tbsp of peanut butter, 2tbsp cocoa powder, and 1tbsp sugar to make peanut butter cup oatmeal.
lunch Tortilla Strata made from Vegan On The Cheap. It's a layer mexican casserole.
Dinner chicken style tvp from The Happy Herbivore Cookbook with .5c kidney beans and salsa wrapped up in a flour tortilla.
snackGreen Goddess Smoothie from Happy Herbivore blog. 3c kale, 2 frozen bananas, 3tbsp cocoa powder.
Drinks 1 gallon tap water.

Other stuff that helps me is shop at discount stores if you have any near you. I go to Winco once a month for staples and then my local grocery whitch is more exspensive once a week for fruits and vegetables.

HTH
Audrey

·
Registered