VeggieBoards - Reply to Topic
Thread: kosher gelatin Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-01-2005 06:11 AM
vegagitator It won't let me post a link. I found a recipe for Moon Pies on All Recipes. It was under sandwich cookies, under filled cookies, under (duh) cookies. There are probably some other comprable recipes on the site too. I think you could veganize it fairly easily with some egg replacer and soy milk (sour it with a tiny bit of lemon juice or vinegar for "buttermilk"). Earth Balance and Spectrum make non-hydrogenated shortening made from Palm oil.
05-01-2005 05:49 AM
vegagitator Kojel and Emes' "gelatins" are made with carageenan and vegan (careful, they may make non-vegan ones too). Hain Superfruit dessert jel is vegan too. Pangea Vegan Products has their own brand of VeganSweets dessert Jel mix.
04-29-2005 11:52 AM
rainbow_clouds gelatin is always derived from an animal otherwise it's called something else.
04-29-2005 11:07 AM
vggiegirl It's not Dannon used to make their fruit on the bottom yoghurts with fruit pectin and moved to gelatin. Jerks.
04-29-2005 10:45 AM
FreshTart Some are, some aren't. Assume not.
04-29-2005 10:44 AM
bstutzma I'm pretty sure it isn't.
04-29-2005 10:43 AM
colorful Dannon yogurt was on sale for a super deal last night, so I bought some. This morning while we were eating it, my husband noticed that "kosher gelatin" is in the ingredient list. Has anyone ever found out whether Dannon yogurt is vegetarian?



Thanks!
04-21-2004 09:16 PM
raylea
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamJen View Post

I could moon you while eating some pie...would that help?



PS - Dutch Apple is my favorite.



Is that supposed to sound so dirty?
04-21-2004 04:21 AM
Fenguin The gelatin used to make Count Chocula marshmallows comes from pig skin.
04-20-2004 08:33 PM
IamJen I could moon you while eating some pie...would that help?



PS - Dutch Apple is my favorite.
04-20-2004 04:45 PM
raylea I emailed... and, unfortunately, it is from an animal source No Moon Pies for me... (on second thought, that could be a good idea!)
04-18-2004 07:54 PM
IamJen http://www.kosherquest.org/bookhtml/MARSHMALLOWS.htm
04-18-2004 05:37 PM
Neta558
Quote:
Originally Posted by raylea View Post

Does anyone (other than me) care so much about Moon Pies that I should contact them??



No need, Gelatin is always from animals, or it has a different name.

Kosher Gelatin is probably from fish so it can be used with milk products.

Boxes of fish gelatin usually has big statment of "kosher gelatin" on them, and that's probably the meaning in "moon pies" too, whatever it is..
04-18-2004 05:28 PM
raylea Does anyone (other than me) care so much about Moon Pies that I should contact them??
04-18-2004 03:01 PM
Loki
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpickell View Post

Sometimes. But not when it's an ingredient in something like Moon Pies.



Ah, the ingredients list says "kosher gelatin". Ouch! I guess it's one of those circumstances where one must contact the manufacturers.
04-18-2004 01:49 PM
tearhsong2 Kosher gelatin could be beef gelatin or fish gelatin--all it means is that it's not from pork and that it's so processed that it's not considered an animal byproduct anymore.
04-18-2004 12:51 PM
froggythefrog Kosher gelatin is pareve, which simply means that it is so removed from the animal that it is no longer considered an animal product. This means it can be agar agar, beef, etc.
04-18-2004 12:27 PM
kpickell Sometimes. But not when it's an ingredient in something like Moon Pies.
04-18-2004 12:22 PM
Loki Wouldn't the ingredients list on the side of the kosher gelatin explain what was in it?
04-18-2004 11:58 AM
IamJen I've not yet found a product in my HFS with kosher gelatin that is vegetarian. As mentioned, it would be non-pork gelatin, but it's mostly to do with how the animal is killed/prepared - that is, does the process follow Jewish dietary laws.
04-18-2004 10:17 AM
kpickell Kosher gelatin means non-pork gelatin. It could still be beef gelatin. You won't know unless it says.
04-18-2004 10:12 AM
raylea
Quote:
In practice, kosher gelatin is usually made of agar-agar - a plant (seaweed) derivative.

http://ohr.edu/ask_db/ask_main.php/127/Q1/



Quote:
Most kosher gelatins are also vegetarian.

http://www.ochef.com/199.htm



Does this mean that kosher gelatin is vegetarian?



If this is true... than Moon Pies are vegan

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off