|Topic Review (Newest First)|
|06-20-2019 11:50 PM|
|dennisedward||A natural flavor is that is derived from a plant or animal whereas an artificial flavor is that does not come from a plant or animal source.Artificial flavors are chemical mixtures made with non-natural ingredients in a lab. In the case of artificial flavors, chemists can make anything taste like an orange without any actual oranges. That is actually a horrible thing in the case of health. Detailed information on Natural ingredients is on kancor.com. This is the same case with Natural color also.|
|01-31-2005 06:47 PM|
Natural flavors are just that - Natural Flavors. They are not necessarily from a plant source. In this case, if the product is vegan than the flavors should be as well. Contact the burger company for info on their product.
A natural flavor just means that it is derived from a natural source. Could be fruit, could be vegie, could be CHICKEN!!
But, it aint artificial. Otherwise, the packaging would have to say "artificial flavors". And one more interesting tidbit - a natural flavor does not automatically mean it was processed or extacted in a natural way. Just means the SOURCE is natural. All kinds of things are used in processing - often, unless a company asks how and/or what was used , such as solvents, in the processing of their "natural flavor" even they don't know.
|01-23-2005 02:03 PM|
Maybe they were worried about scaring away potentional customers who weren't looking to go veg but simply wanted to reduce the fat, etc. in their diets.
|01-23-2005 01:48 PM|
|GhostUser||They used to have the word vegan on the box (or vegetarian if it was vegetarian).|
|01-23-2005 01:45 PM|
|GhostUser||If the product is vegan, the natural flavors are from a plant source.|
|01-23-2005 01:42 PM|
|GhostUser||Its natural flavors from plant sources, I thought|
|01-23-2005 01:38 PM|
So I'm halfway through a box of Gardenburger's flame grilled chik'n patties, and I go to heat one up for lunch yesterday, when it occurs to me for the first time to look at the ingredients list. I naturally assumed they'd be either vegetarian or vegan. Well, halfway through the list I saw "natural flavors" without any further explanation, and the hair on the back of my neck stood up. There's no "vegetarian" or "vegan" mentioned anywhere on the box. I finally went to the Gardenburger website and found the product page. Here's what it says:
Soy Protein Concentrate-Hydrated, Wheat Gluten-Hydrated. Contains less than 2% of the following: Canola Oil, Cider Vinegar, Salt, Isolated Soy Protein, Vegetable Gum, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Safflower Oil, Sesame Oil, Soy Sauce (Water, Soybeans, Wheat, Salt), Sauteed Vegetables and Herbs, Brown Sugar, Sugar.
This product contains corn, sesame, soy and wheat.
THIS PRODUCT IS VEGAN
Well, if the patties are vegan, then what would the "natural flavors" be? Should I email Gardenburger to find out, or just relax and assume they'd be vegan?
I probably won't buy these again as I didn't exactly adore them, but shouldn't they be more specific on the box as to what they mean by "natural flavors"?