VeggieBoards - Reply to Topic
Thread: What are "natural flavors" in a vegan product? Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
06-20-2019 10:50 PM
dennisedward A natural flavor is that is derived from a plant or animal whereas an artificial flavor is that does not come from a plant or animal source.Artificial flavors are chemical mixtures made with non-natural ingredients in a lab. In the case of artificial flavors, chemists can make anything taste like an orange without any actual oranges. That is actually a horrible thing in the case of health. Detailed information on Natural ingredients is on kancor.com. This is the same case with Natural color also.
01-31-2005 05:47 PM
oceangirl Natural flavors are just that - Natural Flavors. They are not necessarily from a plant source. In this case, if the product is vegan than the flavors should be as well. Contact the burger company for info on their product.



A natural flavor just means that it is derived from a natural source. Could be fruit, could be vegie, could be CHICKEN!!



But, it aint artificial. Otherwise, the packaging would have to say "artificial flavors". And one more interesting tidbit - a natural flavor does not automatically mean it was processed or extacted in a natural way. Just means the SOURCE is natural. All kinds of things are used in processing - often, unless a company asks how and/or what was used , such as solvents, in the processing of their "natural flavor" even they don't know.



01-23-2005 01:03 PM
Amy SF
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalafelsRule View Post

They used to have the word vegan on the box (or vegetarian if it was vegetarian).



Maybe they were worried about scaring away potentional customers who weren't looking to go veg but simply wanted to reduce the fat, etc. in their diets.
01-23-2005 12:48 PM
GhostUser They used to have the word vegan on the box (or vegetarian if it was vegetarian).
01-23-2005 12:45 PM
GhostUser If the product is vegan, the natural flavors are from a plant source.
01-23-2005 12:42 PM
GhostUser Its natural flavors from plant sources, I thought
01-23-2005 12:38 PM
Amy SF http://www.gardenburger.com/products...grillchik.html



So I'm halfway through a box of Gardenburger's flame grilled chik'n patties, and I go to heat one up for lunch yesterday, when it occurs to me for the first time to look at the ingredients list. I naturally assumed they'd be either vegetarian or vegan. Well, halfway through the list I saw "natural flavors" without any further explanation, and the hair on the back of my neck stood up. There's no "vegetarian" or "vegan" mentioned anywhere on the box. I finally went to the Gardenburger website and found the product page. Here's what it says:



Quote:
Soy Protein Concentrate-Hydrated, Wheat Gluten-Hydrated. Contains less than 2% of the following: Canola Oil, Cider Vinegar, Salt, Isolated Soy Protein, Vegetable Gum, Autolyzed Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Safflower Oil, Sesame Oil, Soy Sauce (Water, Soybeans, Wheat, Salt), Sauteed Vegetables and Herbs, Brown Sugar, Sugar.



This product contains corn, sesame, soy and wheat.



THIS PRODUCT IS VEGAN



Well, if the patties are vegan, then what would the "natural flavors" be? Should I email Gardenburger to find out, or just relax and assume they'd be vegan?



I probably won't buy these again as I didn't exactly adore them, but shouldn't they be more specific on the box as to what they mean by "natural flavors"?

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off