VeggieBoards - Reply to Topic
Thread: I need fellow vegans options Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
04-17-2016 06:30 PM
lockie My walmart also has a lot of soy milk options. Chocolate and vanilla.
Pretty much all juices are vegan but probably contain a lot of sugar.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
04-15-2016 12:47 PM
kaitie813 It's fine, since you need it to live. Like others have said, there is no way to be a "perfect" vegan, but as long as you are making an effort and are doing what is feasible for you, you are still a vegan. For example, I have to take anti-depressants. They have most likely been tested on animals, but for my daily life, they are important for my well-being and as such, I still take them despite adapting a vegan lifestyle.
04-13-2016 12:21 PM
Vegan Mike You could maybe try making your own apple juice if you like. As for the oreos I would stay away from them even if they're vegan. There's all sorts of unhealthy ingredients in those I'm sure. If you're looking for a snack how about an avocado or banana? Avocados are full of nutrients like omega 3, omega 6 and potassium and bananas are full of potassium and other nutrients as well! Personally I think most fruit makes a good snack, they're tasty and nutritious!
04-13-2016 03:31 AM
silva E120: Carmine, Carminic acid, Cochineal. Origin: Natural red food colour isolated from the insects Dactylopius coccus, living on different species of succulents. E120(i) is the pure colour, whereas E120(ii) is the crude extract.

It has to be labeled because it's an allergan so if not, you're okay.

I don't sweat sugar in packaged foods, but so you know, all organic sugar is vegan, beet sugar is always vegan, I buy Pioneer- it doesn't say beet on the bag, but I found out here--
https://www.vrg.org/journal/vj2007is...sue4_sugar.php

I really suggest you focus on the bigger picture. It gets wayyyyyyy easier as time goes by.

Trader Joe has some confusing products - like their roasted veg pizza- vegan except for honey! Yeah, honey in a cheeseless pizza. Their Dynamo juice which has loads of good vitamins including B12 also contains D3.

They have other awesome vegan foods, including soy chorizo, the firmest extra firm tofu, vegan cream cheese, tempeh, frozen meatless meatballs, and frozen dinners. Personal products --soap shampoo, love their peppermint toothpaste
04-12-2016 09:16 PM
David3
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherocks54 View Post
It is so overwhelming it's making me so stressed out

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
Whoa, slow down and relax. You don't need to go vegan overnight, and you don't have to worry about being 100% perfect. If you stress out, you won't be able to enjoy your food!

Sherocks, here is a nicely-done Vegetarian (actually vegan) Starter Guide. It explains vegan nutrition on page 13, and it has lots of very easy meal ideas: http://www.mercyforanimals.org/files/VSG.pdf
04-12-2016 08:54 PM
sherocks54 Thanks guys I need that just cookie dough so bad and the daiya cream cheese

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 08:15 PM
Beautiful Joe I also want to add that Walmart sells Just Mayo, which is vegan.
04-12-2016 06:37 PM
Naturebound Here are some lists of vegan foods and drinks you can find at Walmart (by the way, have you have tried those fruit waters called Bai? They are labeled vegan).

http://www.vrg.org/blog/2013/05/06/p...an-in-walmart/

http://www.yourdailyvegan.com/2013/0...vegan-walmart/
04-12-2016 06:36 PM
Naturebound Here are some lists of vegan foods and drinks you can find at Walmart (by the way, have you have tried those fruit waters called Bai? They are labeled vegan).

http://www.vrg.org/blog/2013/05/06/p...an-in-walmart/

http://www.yourdailyvegan.com/2013/0...vegan-walmart/
04-12-2016 01:49 PM
sherocks54 My skin is breaking out bad as a new vegan I guess my skins detoxing

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 01:39 PM
sherocks54 It is so overwhelming it's making me so stressed out

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 01:38 PM
sherocks54 Thank so much! Honest kids juices is vegan too I called Coca-Cola what you think

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 01:32 PM
ModVegan As a new vegan, it can be overwhelming when you realize how many products use animal ingredients. Read labels, but I'd advise against worrying about sugar processed with bone char for now. If you already make all your own food, it's not a big deal to buy vegan sugar, but if you eat processed products, I really think that it's too much stress. It's far too easy to overload yourself with information and give up. Being consistently vegan is way more important than being the "perfect" vegan.

As for juice, if it's not red or purple, it probably doesn't have cochineal. Carmine is used in tons of products (especially kids' foods - anything that's a brilliant red colour). Food manufacturers use it in some yogurts (not a problem if you're vegan) and a number of other things, like some Dole ready-to-eat jello (which is otherwise vegan, because it's made from seaweed instead of gelatine).

At walmart, I buy my kids Minute Maid apple grape juice and apple juice, both of which are vegan. And Silk chocolate soy milk is popular with everyone in our house.
04-12-2016 01:29 PM
sherocks54 I know it's so confusing I called Coca-Cola Company about the honest juices they said they are vegan - some of their teas with honey

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 01:21 PM
David3
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherocks54 View Post
If they were vegan why couldn't they tell me it was very odd?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Hi sherocks,


I think it's because different people have different definitions of "vegan". I've had the same experience when I've asked companies whether a food/beverage product is vegan.
04-12-2016 01:17 PM
sherocks54 If they were vegan why couldn't they tell me it was very odd?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 12:56 PM
David3
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherocks54 View Post
I need to know what are drinks vegans drink like you can buy at walmart? I had some motts 100%apple juice that looked okay by the ingredients but I want to make sure it is ? I really love apple juice it's something I need as a new vegan and also I keep hearing mixed reviews on oreos do Vegans eat them?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Hi sherocks,


A Google search shows that Mott's 100% Apple Juice contains water, apple juice concentrate, and ascorbic acid (vitamin C): http://www.motts.com/products/2/100-apple-juice . Ascorbic acid is commercially produced from glucose, which is commercially produced from plant starches. It is vegan.


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ascorb...al_preparation


https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glucose#Commercial
04-12-2016 11:48 AM
sherocks54 Thanks For Your Reply I Just Called Motts Company They Can't Even Give Me Information On Their Juice if Its Vegan I Feel Sick To My Stomach Now I Drank Like 4 Bottles Of Motts 100%Apple Juice. ..

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk
04-12-2016 11:41 AM
silva Welcome
What you'll want to look for in drinks like that are mostly carmine or cochineal - I can't look their E number right now, but they both mean a red food coloring made from crushed cochineal beetles. I rarely find it, but I do recall seeing a "juice' blend that had it- more of a artificial kind.
Vitamin D3 is a possibility, but again pretty rare. Trader Joes has a blend called Dynamo I think that I was buying for all the potassium, B12 and others, then I noticed the D3!
Fish oil? I guess, anything that says omega DHA you need to watch for- esp margarines- it's often fish oil, but could be algae which is fine. I do know some orange juice contains that.
Possibly gelatine? Never seen it, but it's in so many things.

As for things like oreos, in the US processed cane sugar had about a 50-50 chance of being filtered through bones- it's the sugar that keeps some people from feeling it's vegan enough because of that chance, others feel an occasional cookie isn't enough to pick over.
I mention US because most of Europe does not use bone char. Also because oreos in Canada at least contain some kind of dairy. Countries differ in processiong
04-12-2016 11:13 AM
sherocks54
I need fellow vegans options

I need to know what are drinks vegans drink like you can buy at walmart? I had some motts 100%apple juice that looked okay by the ingredients but I want to make sure it is ? I really love apple juice it's something I need as a new vegan and also I keep hearing mixed reviews on oreos do Vegans eat them?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off