VeggieBoards - Reply to Topic
Thread: Why Can't Pop-Tarts be Vegetarian!!! Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
04-29-2012 08:30 PM
Jorjor I'm pretty sure the unfrosted ones are suitable for vegetarians. The strawberry ones are ok tasting, chocolate fudge on the other hand..
04-24-2012 08:46 PM
gooberbanana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Identity_thief View Post

I've never eaten a pop tart, but if it's the icing that has gelatine, you could always buy the plain ones and ice your own. That way you can lick the bowl too

That might be true, but it's not the same:-(
04-24-2012 11:55 AM
Move of Ten
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kari View Post

The gelatin is in the frosting, not the filling. The unfrosted ones are vegan.

Sounds right, that must be why I had that impression.
04-24-2012 09:59 AM
Identity_thief I've never eaten a pop tart, but if it's the icing that has gelatine, you could always buy the plain ones and ice your own. That way you can lick the bowl too
04-23-2012 08:57 PM
I Heart Corey Haim!!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charity View Post

I may be mistaken, but I believe Nature's Path Organic Toaster Pastries are vegetarian (although not vegan). Anyone know for sure? I'm not a toaster pastry eater, so I can't vouch for the taste.


yes they are veggie and I have tried the blueberry and strawberry ones and honestly I wasnt impressed at all....not enough filling and a gross taste to me anyways.

peace, love & nirvana
04-23-2012 07:52 PM
Kari The gelatin is in the frosting, not the filling. The unfrosted ones are vegan.
04-23-2012 08:23 AM
Charity I may be mistaken, but I believe Nature's Path Organic Toaster Pastries are vegetarian (although not vegan). Anyone know for sure? I'm not a toaster pastry eater, so I can't vouch for the taste.
04-23-2012 05:57 AM
fadeaway1289 Certain unfrosted flavors are vegetarian. Also Amy's are vegan too and much better for you.http://www.amyskitchen.com/products/...eakfast/000184
04-22-2012 11:15 PM
madisonelise Pop tarts just look so bad for you haha... I loved them when I was little. Although, i was never allowed to have them. I ate them at friends places hehe
04-22-2012 11:08 PM
AlainWinthrope Just get the unfrosted kind. I never liked the frosting anyways. It's like this dry plaster that has no flavor.
04-22-2012 10:32 PM
Puppet Master I think the unfrosted Cinnamon and maybe Apple are veg*n, but that's it, also no fun since they don't have icing.
04-22-2012 10:25 PM
Move of Ten That's too bad. I don't eat pop tarts, but I thought they didn't contain animal products for some reason.
04-22-2012 09:41 PM
thcause I never knew that. When you switch to veg* you find out so much stuff you cant eat.

If you or someone you live with likes to cook here are some recipes I found (not my recipes, just a random google search)

http://heydayfashionblog.blogspot.co...rts-vegan.html

http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od...rts_Recipe.htm

http://vegansaurus.com/post/297366184/recipe-pop-tarts
04-22-2012 09:24 PM
gooberbanana It is so frustrating. Pop-tarts were my favorite treat as a kid. I was so disappointed to learn that they contained gelatin once I became a vegetarian. Why can't Kelloggs use another gelling agent like agar or pectin?

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off