VeggieBoards - Reply to Topic
Thread: FYI- Boca Chik'n nuggets/patties no longer vegan- AGAIN Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
09-09-2006 01:33 PM
down_to_earth It looks as though part of my last post disappeared, but the gist of it is there. Also, I don't think I realized the last time that the topic was specifically the chik'n, not just any of them.



We went to Meijer yesterday. My husband told me to get the Bocas, even though I forgot my coupons. They don't expire for awhile and the time might come when I really need them. Anyway, I grabbed the chick'n patties without thinking of whether or not they're vegan, though I did make sure I got the burgers that said vegan. My omni-husband was interested in trying the chik'n, and that was enough for me, even if there was a trace of egg or dairy.



This morning, though, I did read the ingredients. I didn't see any "egg" or "dairy", though I think I did see "natural flavoring", which could be iffy.



Regardless, Bocas are about the best thing that Kraft makes.



Peace and blessings,

Laura
09-07-2006 03:41 PM
down_to_earth Oy. I don't eat veggie "meat" the way I used to. Maybe twice a week I would have a veggie burger with a boiled potato and steamed veggies for dinner or lunch. Now that I'm eating more meals with my husband, not so much. l



Meijer has the Bocas on sale this week 3/$7 and I have a couple of $.75 coupons that I'm going to use. At $1.59 for each box (just two, since I only have two coupons), I'm sure that I'm getting them for more than half off. Before I moved here, a grocery store I frequented had them on sale and I had coupons, and I paid about $1.50 for the three boxes. That, in addition to what I had (four or five burgers, three Morningstar Farms chick'n and a package of eight veggie dogs), I moved with me since I didn't know what prices would be here. (Good thing, too, the cheapest I've seen is around $3.)



I guessed NAPF to be:No artitificial preservatives or flavors.



Peace and blessings,

Laura
09-07-2006 02:58 PM
kpickell lol, actually NAPF = No Artificial Preservatives or Flavors.

http://www.bocaburger.com/images/meatless4.gif
09-07-2006 02:31 PM
compassionate1
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Brandon View Post

Mmmmm.....chemical-y.







Quote:

NapF Is a Cytoplasmic Iron-Sulfur Protein Required for Fe-S Cluster Assembly in the Periplasmic Nitrate Reductase



Um, can someone get gaya in here to tell me what the hell that actually means?
09-07-2006 02:28 PM
Brandon
Quote:
NapF Is a Cytoplasmic Iron-Sulfur Protein Required for Fe-S Cluster Assembly in the Periplasmic Nitrate Reductase



Mmmmm.....chemical-y.
09-07-2006 11:46 AM
Skylark
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~Brandon View Post

...

Also, I noticed from the link a banner that said "Boca products are made with organic soy or NAPF."



Anyone know what NAPF is exactly? I did a Google search and came up with nothing.



This explains it in scientific terms, but not in the context of food.



http://www.jbc.org/cgi/content/abstract/279/48/49727



I struck out searching several websites I thought might know.
09-06-2006 07:35 PM
karenlovessnow I also have noticed that the ones in the newer box are not vegan. I found a really good brand at Wild Oats (can't remember the name however) that were vegan. I guess I'll have to make the hour ride soon and get me some!
09-06-2006 07:25 PM
hamilton Just checked mine that I bought last week "new crispier breading" spicy chik'n and they're vegan. If that helps any...
09-06-2006 07:07 PM
Gita I dont know much about this issue, but there are now newer labeling standards where venders need to provide more information. Before something would be considered "free" of something, and still have a fractional amount.



also: the sort of "stuff" these patties are made of is extruded: It is a chemical process similar to making plastics or vinyls. It is possible that the GMO soybeans are specifically engineered for this highly unnatural process-- It is possible that you would not get as good of a result going with "organic" beans.
09-06-2006 06:57 PM
kpickell It is a bit odd that the vegan ones are the ones that use genetically modified non-organic soy. Who came up with that idea. Vegans are often the ones looking for non-gmo organic food items, not most vegetarians.
09-06-2006 06:34 PM
meatless ok we don't get any of those here, but why the hell wouldn't they make the vegan ones with organic soy too? That's annoying.
09-06-2006 06:11 PM
Ravenfire I've looked at both versions and neither are vegan here. I've been looking all over to find a vegan chik'n nugget since they changed and haven't been able to yet.
09-06-2006 06:10 PM
Brandon
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpickell View Post

Actually Boca has both vegan Chik'n patties and nuggest, and ovo-lacto Chik'n patties and nuggets.



The vegetarian ones are made with organic soy and say "No Artificial Preservatives" on the front of the box. The vegan ones are not made with organic soy and come in a red box.



Vegetarian ones: http://www.bocaburger.com/product_organic/4.html

Vegan ones: http://www.bocaburger.com/product_meatless/4.html



OK- so maybe the store here only carries the L/O ones. They used to have the vegan ones, so maybe they switched or something.

I find it strange that the website doesn't have updated pics of the packaging.

And why would they have both vegan and L/O versions of the same product, which are so similarly packaged? Sort of deceptive!



Also, I noticed from the link a banner that said "Boca products are made with organic soy or NAPF."



Anyone know what NAPF is exactly? I did a Google search and came up with nothing.
09-06-2006 06:05 PM
kpickell Actually Boca has both vegan Chik'n patties and nuggest, and ovo-lacto Chik'n patties and nuggets.



The vegetarian ones are made with organic soy and say "No Artificial Preservatives" on the front of the box. The vegan ones are not made with organic soy and come in a red box.



Vegetarian ones: http://www.bocaburger.com/product_organic/4.html

Vegan ones: http://www.bocaburger.com/product_meatless/4.html
09-06-2006 05:59 PM
Brandon
Quote:
Originally Posted by misq17 View Post

What!!! And I finally thought I'd found a good replacement for those morningstar chik'n patties. I'm going to send them an email



eta: Their website says that all of their chik'n products are vegan. Could it be that you found the old products in your store?



Old products in new packaging? The old ones were in a red box, much like most of the other Boca products. The new ones were in a more tannish colored box.
09-06-2006 05:24 PM
misq17 What!!! And I finally thought I'd found a good replacement for those morningstar chik'n patties. I'm going to send them an email



eta: Their website says that all of their chik'n products are vegan. Could it be that you found the old products in your store?

Quote:
Originally Posted by website FAQ View Post


For the Roasted Garlic Burger and Chik'n Nuggets and Patties, we've recently removed egg, milk, and dairy ingredients to make them vegan. To ensure that the package you have is vegan, we recommend that you check the ingredient line to ensure that egg, milk and dairy ingredients aren't listed

09-06-2006 05:07 PM
SusieKay Geez, darn it. I actually rather enjoyed those nuggets. They were a good treat with ketchup...
09-06-2006 04:48 PM
GhostUser



Thanks for the info, Brandon!
09-06-2006 04:45 PM
Brandon I was at the store last night and I wandered past the case where the Boca products are and noticed that many of them have new packaging designs. As I picked up a box of the chik'n nugs, I noticed that the packaging wasn't the only thing that has changed- they now contain "less than 2% of egg whites", as do the spicy chik'n patties.



Now, I don't really eat many processed, meat-analog products, but I have eaten the nugs or patties a few times in the past as a treat or when I was feeling lazy.

Then I went vegan, and quit eating them, then they got rid of the egg content, so I ate them a few times again. Now they aren't vegan again.

*******s!! Make up your mind- don't make vegans keep label-checking to see if the product has changed again and again.

Baaaaaad marketing, imo, to yo-yo on your recipe like that.



Guess this is Boca's way of telling this vegan that he needs to keep eating/buying veggies and just blow off the fake meat crap.

If not, that's how I'm taking it anyway.



Would anyone like to wager a guess as to how long it'll be til the Boca original Vegan burgers start having gelatin or lard or something in them?



I just wanted to share that, in case anyone here eats them and is vegan.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off