VeggieBoards - Reply to Topic
Thread: Pig fat in tooth paste???? Reply to Thread
Title:
Message:
Trackback:
Send Trackbacks to (Separate multiple URLs with spaces) :
Post Icons
You may choose an icon for your message from the following list:
 

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


  Additional Options
Miscellaneous Options

  Topic Review (Newest First)
05-18-2017 06:05 AM
BlueMts Glycerin can be made from animal or vegetable fats. They were mostly animal now they are mostly vegetable including in chewing gum. Read the ingredients The source should be on there - at least in Aus were the item has to have the source of ingredients labeled if the could be ant doubt - vegetable or animal or non-animal (??)

If it isn't labeled you just have to check with the manufacturers.

More consumers if it is veg.

Glycerins are alcohol compounds found in all animal and vegetable fats.
05-12-2017 05:02 PM
Thalassa I make my own toothpaste from unrefined coconut oil, baking soda, and peppermint flavoring.

Toms of Maine and Kiss My Face make vegan toothpastes though they may be a bit on the pricey side, which is why I often make my own (plus less packaging).

The awesome company Lush carries many vegan grooming products (a few contain honey) and they are 100% cruelty free. Their toothy tabs are dry toothpaste in different unique flavors, you pop one in your mouth and chew slightly without chewing too much, wet your toothbrush and brush. I'm fairly certain every flavor is vegan (who would put honey in dry toothpaste?) and those are perfect for camping or other forms of travel, as they come in a tiny cardboard box which is totally recyclable, btw, so also create less waste than classic pastes.
05-11-2017 01:22 PM
David3
Quote:
Originally Posted by fauxfire View Post
pig fat is what makes it gummy...it's also in gum and oreos...just to name a few


Check your facts before posting.

Oreo cookies are kosher, which means that they don't have pig ingredients:
https://oukosher.org/publications/latest-oreo-cookies/



.
05-11-2017 01:20 PM
David3
Quote:
Originally Posted by troub View Post
lard + lye = homeade soap!

Soap can also be made from vegetable oil + lye or from vegetable glycerin + lye (rather than from lard + lye). Vegan soaps are made this way


http://kissmyface.com/natural-body-p...-Aloe-Bar-Soap


.
05-11-2017 01:16 PM
David3
Quote:
Originally Posted by cienerose View Post
I read something years ago that said that glycerin was a byproduct of making soap from animal fat and lye. .



Rather than guess and spread misinformation, I really wish people would do some actual research, using reputable sources.


According to the Vegetarian Resource Group, glycerin (also known as glycerol) can be made from vegetable, animal, or synthetic sources. Industrially-produced glycerin is typically made from soybean oil, or propylene (a petrochemical) - both vegan.


http://www.vrg.org/ingredients/#glycerol
05-11-2017 09:49 AM
Spudulika
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mihael Jozef Osterc View Post
AsSalamu a Leikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. To each and everyone. I admire your line of work. JazakAllah khairan (islamic gratitude as may Allah reward you since we can't enough) everyone for your beautifull helpfull posts. Ma Sha Allah. I have a question.

I am from Slovenija (between Italy Austria Croatia and Hungary)in the EU, i was wondering does anyone know the Himalaya toohpaste from India and it says in the ingridients glycerine and
on the front label 100% vegetarian.
Does this mean its not pig based?
Anyone knows in the EU any kosher or hallal stores with no pig products. Like normal chocholates candy etc.

JazakAllah khairan in advance

ASSalam A Leikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh(as in goodbye)
I don't know the specific toothpaste you mention, but if it says it's 100% vegetarian, then it has no pig fat in it. No vegetarian products contain pig fat.
05-11-2017 09:44 AM
Mihael Jozef Osterc AsSalamu a Leikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh. To each and everyone. I admire your line of work. JazakAllah khairan (islamic gratitude as may Allah reward you since we can't enough) everyone for your beautifull helpfull posts. Ma Sha Allah. I have a question.

I am from Slovenija (between Italy Austria Croatia and Hungary)in the EU, i was wondering does anyone know the Himalaya toohpaste from India and it says in the ingridients glycerine and
on the front label 100% vegetarian.
Does this mean its not pig based?
Anyone knows in the EU any kosher or hallal stores with no pig products. Like normal chocholates candy etc.

JazakAllah khairan in advance

ASSalam A Leikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh(as in goodbye)
01-12-2014 08:08 PM
lavender phase Peppermint oil and baking soda = fresh breath & white teeth grin.gif
01-12-2014 07:47 PM
LedBoots
Quote:
Originally Posted by cienerose View Post

I read something years ago that said that glycerin was a byproduct of making soap from animal fat and lye. Unfortunatly it was very long ago and I can't remember where that was. But, since then I have always avoided products that don't state clearly that the glycerin in them is from vegetable sources.

When I was a child my mom sometimes had us use a mixture of baking soda and salt when we were out of toothpaste and on a small budget. She often still uses it.
My grandfather used baking soda to brush his teeth his whole life. He had all 32 teeth at his death at 87, and only had one cavity ever.
01-12-2014 04:33 PM
cienerose I read something years ago that said that glycerin was a byproduct of making soap from animal fat and lye. Unfortunatly it was very long ago and I can't remember where that was. But, since then I have always avoided products that don't state clearly that the glycerin in them is from vegetable sources.

When I was a child my mom sometimes had us use a mixture of baking soda and salt when we were out of toothpaste and on a small budget. She often still uses it.
12-26-2013 01:06 AM
Tiger Lilly
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moechalatte View Post

Where do you find all these vegan products without paying an arm and a leg? I thought I knew which ingredients to avoid, but apparently I don't...!



I knew lard was in most soaps, etc., and milk products were in a lot of candy and gum ... but pig fat in tooth paste ... that doesn't even make sense!


Yeah, I heard about something similar being in toothpaste.

What I've found is best....is just emailing your current company/brand you might be able to get regularly and asking them what's in their product. That's how I did it. (Have a look out for dental floss as well. I found one that doesn't contain animal products, but it might still be tested on animals. Sigh. It's hard to win with stuff like that).

12-25-2013 04:21 PM
Vegan Dave Eeeeeeeeew.........

I use Tom's......thank God. Otherwise, I might as well brush with bacon!!! shocked.gif
12-23-2013 09:14 AM
Yoff

I just checked my Kosher Food Guide, and it says all toothpastes (in the UK) are permitted.  That means that none of them is made with pork fat.

07-11-2006 05:05 PM
kpickell Use corn syrup to brush your teeth? Nah, I find rubbing plain white sugar all over your teeth works faster.
07-11-2006 03:45 PM
Moechalatte
Quote:
Originally Posted by troub View Post

corn syrup?

um.......





agave nectar <3



What's wrong with corn syrup? Just curious...
07-11-2006 03:33 PM
troub
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFalafel View Post

Many vegetarians use honey. If you're vegan, subsitute corn syrup for honey.





corn syrup?

um.......





agave nectar <3
07-11-2006 09:04 AM
MrFalafel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moechalatte View Post

That is pretty cool! ...But I thought honey wasn't considered vegan?



Many vegetarians use honey. If you're vegan, subsitute corn syrup for honey.
07-10-2006 04:39 PM
GhostUser
Quote:
Originally Posted by troub View Post

<3 Natures Gate toothpaste. No worrys here.



Same here.
07-10-2006 04:35 PM
Moechalatte
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFalafel View Post

Concerned about cost? Make your own vegan toothpaste/toothpowder easily for pennies. http://www.mizar5.com/toothpst.htm



That is pretty cool! ...But I thought honey wasn't considered vegan?
07-10-2006 04:33 PM
Moechalatte
Quote:
Originally Posted by fauxfire View Post

ah ok it's been a while...from what I am seeing...now days oreos can be veg'n...they didn't used to be....and you can still run into some that are not depending on where they are made...sorry didn't mean to freak you out



*sigh* I was starting to freak out! I've mentioned several foods on VB that I thought were vegan and had to be set straight on. The original-style oreos and 'inside out' or whatever oreos aren't actually vegan I think, but the mint and peanut butter are at least!
07-10-2006 12:08 PM
froggythefrog Yes, Tom's is available at Target, as well as (OT) Second Generation products.
07-10-2006 11:11 AM
Jinga
Quote:
Originally Posted by slp2b View Post

I get Tom's toothpaste from Trader Joe's. It says right on the label that "This product does not conatain triclosan, saccharin, artificial sweeteners, preservatives, colors, or flavors; or animal ingredients. Tom's of Maine products are tested for safety without the use of animals."

It doesn't taste weird at all and it was only something like $3.50 for the tube.



I use Toms of Maine, as well. If you don't have a Trader Joes, Whole Foods, or Wild Oats nearby, I've also seen the toothpaste at Target.
07-10-2006 10:15 AM
fauxfire the problem is that it very well can be derived from animal fat.....not always...



yet again note the question mark after the heading...pork fat in toothpaste?



I hate to feel weird when I brush my teeth
07-10-2006 10:09 AM
froggythefrog
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gita View Post

Q: And lard is?



A: Pig fat



That was part of her point.
07-10-2006 10:01 AM
fauxfire I read it somewhere...and will have to find it again...you can find things like this on muslim dietary boards...and kosher boards. Also, I figure if muslims...or jewish people ward off certain things...then these products probably violate their dietary laws...and in that case are not veg'n.
07-10-2006 09:57 AM
slp2b I get Tom's toothpaste from Trader Joe's. It says right on the label that "This product does not conatain triclosan, saccharin, artificial sweeteners, preservatives, colors, or flavors; or animal ingredients. Tom's of Maine products are tested for safety without the use of animals."

It doesn't taste weird at all and it was only something like $3.50 for the tube.
07-10-2006 02:40 AM
troub
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gita View Post

Q: And lard is?



A: Pig fat



yes.



ahhh the joys of text and the unablity to see facial expressions/sarcasm.
07-10-2006 02:38 AM
troub I still recommend natures gate. Added bonus is no added flouride!
07-10-2006 02:34 AM
MrFalafel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moechalatte View Post

Where do you find all these vegan products without paying an arm and a leg? I thought I knew which ingredients to avoid, but apparently I don't...!



I knew lard was in most soaps, etc., and milk products were in a lot of candy and gum ... but pig fat in tooth paste ... that doesn't even make sense!




Concerned about cost? Make your own vegan toothpaste/toothpowder easily for pennies. http://www.mizar5.com/toothpst.htm
07-10-2006 01:58 AM
Gita
Quote:
Originally Posted by troub View Post

lard + lye = homeade soap!



Q: And lard is?



A: Pig fat
This thread has more than 30 replies. Click here to review the whole thread.

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off