Does anyone know whether Oasis drinks are vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 03-18-2008, 07:34 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
And if so, how do you know?



Ta
LionSpirit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 03-18-2008, 07:36 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
its made by coca cola, for a start (so not ethically great).



eta: ooh, and it has aspartame (mmmm, yummy- animal tested?!).



you can check ingredients here: http://www.coca-cola.co.uk/yourhealt...in_our_drinks/



eta: its not on the fish gelatine list here: http://www.coca-cola.co.uk/faq/
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#3 Old 03-18-2008, 07:46 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoodedclawjen View Post

its made by coca cola, for a start (so not ethically great).



eta: ooh, and it has aspartame (mmmm, yummy- animal tested?!).



you can check ingredients here: http://www.coca-cola.co.uk/yourhealt...in_our_drinks/



eta: its not on the fish gelatine list here: http://www.coca-cola.co.uk/faq/



Well the water is by the same company so I can either go thirsty or buy one of the drinks from the machine



Also that's a really dodgy answer to the vegetarian question on that website (and the flavourings don't specify what they are) - no actually answer to whether any of the drinks are vegetarian, just an (irrelevant since it suggests that people are still vegetarians if they eat fish) answer as to what the drinks are not. I'm guessing none are even vegetarian then, let alone vegan
LionSpirit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 03-18-2008, 07:51 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by LionSpirit View Post

Well the water is by the same company so I can either go thirsty or buy one of the drinks from the machine



Also that's a really dodgy answer to the vegetarian question on that website (and the flavourings don't specify what they are) - no actually answer to whether any of the drinks are vegetarian, just an (irrelevant since it suggests that people are still vegetarians if they eat fish) answer as to what the drinks are not. I'm guessing none are even vegetarian then, let alone vegan





i've got a nice sigg bottle -i got it for my birthday last year. i don't need to get expensive water in plastic bottles from a machine any more.



i've also got a wickid tubular ice making tray from ikea... so i can make ice sticks and keep my water freezy-cold. you can put other liquids and hot water in the bottles too- just don't microwave the bottle itself.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#5 Old 03-18-2008, 07:58 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by LionSpirit View Post

no actually answer to whether any of the drinks are vegetarian, just an answer as to what the drinks are not. I'm guessing none are even vegetarian then, let alone vegan



Uhhhhh

If something isnt not vegetarian then it's vegetarian. They acknowledge the ones with fish gelatin.

Stop being so paranoid!



I used to drink the summer fruits oasis all the time 'til I developed an allergy to strawberries =(
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#6 Old 03-18-2008, 07:58 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoodedclawjen View Post

i've got a nice sigg bottle -i got it for my birthday last year. i don't need to get expensive water in plastic bottles from a machine any more.



i've also got a wickid tubular ice making tray from ikea... so i can make ice sticks and keep my water freezy-cold. you can put other liquids and hot water in the bottles too- just don't microwave the bottle itself.



Well I usually just carry a bottle filled with tap water around, but if I had an empty one now it'd be no use as the only water I'd be able to get is the water in the toilet rooms, which is apparently not safe to drink but fine to wash your hads with. Hmm.
LionSpirit is offline  
#7 Old 03-18-2008, 08:00 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Is there a kitchen around? a water fountain? Where the hell are you where theres only a coca cola vending machine?!
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#8 Old 03-18-2008, 08:04 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Ferret View Post

Uhhhhh

If something isnt not vegetarian then it's vegetarian. They acknowledge the ones with fish gelatin.

Stop being so paranoid!



I used to drink the summer fruits oasis all the time 'til I developed an allergy to strawberries =(



Hey, I'm not being paranoid!



Ever heard of cochineal? The could easily say "all our products are vegetarian except [insert list]", but no, they work around the answer like a politician. Considering the fact they have avoided answering the question, the products could easily contain products derived from non-mammal animals.



Also, virtually everything in the U.K. that's vegetarian says so so if it doesn't then it's likely it isn't.
LionSpirit is offline  
#9 Old 03-18-2008, 08:06 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
if you're in england, your best bet would be to go outside, open your mouth, tip your head back, and rain'll probably fall into your gob.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#10 Old 03-18-2008, 08:06 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Ferret View Post

Is there a kitchen around? a water fountain? Where the hell are you where theres only a coca cola vending machine?!



What's with all the aggression tonight?!?!



For your information I'm at my university's 24-hour computer room and there's no water fountain (and the one they used to have tasted crap), and the only kitchen is a staff one with a coded lock
LionSpirit is offline  
#11 Old 03-18-2008, 08:07 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoodedclawjen View Post

if you're in england, your best bet would be to go outside, open your mouth, tip your head back, and rain'll probably fall into your gob.



LOL good answer, cept it's amazingly dry right now.
LionSpirit is offline  
#12 Old 03-18-2008, 08:11 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
if you have some plastic maybe you could make a still and drink your own pee?



i reckon i'd either bite the bullet and buy evil water, or suck it up (no pun intended) and risk horrible brain shrivelling and most certain death from dehydration... or wait till you get somewhere with better options.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
#13 Old 03-18-2008, 08:13 PM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoodedclawjen View Post

if you have some plastic maybe you could make a still and drink your own pee?



i reckon i'd either bite the bullet and buy evil water, or suck it up (no pun intended) and risk horrible brain shrivelling and most certain death from dehydration... or wait till you get somewhere with better options.



I bought the water. At least it comes from Great Britain instead of some poor country
LionSpirit is offline  
#14 Old 03-18-2008, 09:33 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Pirate Ferret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 2,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by LionSpirit View Post

Hey, I'm not being paranoid!



Ever heard of cochineal? The could easily say "all our products are vegetarian except [insert list]", but no, they work around the answer like a politician. Considering the fact they have avoided answering the question, the products could easily contain products derived from non-mammal animals.



Also, virtually everything in the U.K. that's vegetarian says so so if it doesn't then it's likely it isn't.



You come across as paranoid to me in a lot of your posts.

If it had cochineal in it it'd be on the label. (Unless it says "colourings" without specifying what they are - if a products red and does that i avoid it)

Not many drinks at all label themselves as vegetarian that i've noticed - in fact I can't think of one brand that does, maybe supermarket own brand stuff? Not that I buy many drinks aside from ice tea and water. oh and rubicon!



Im not being aggressive, "where the hell" is just how I speak (too much gratuitous swearing) and I guess it could come across that way sometimes so sorry if it seems it!

I guess it's the holiday so the SU bar won't be open for you to get a glass of water from - which is where I usually head when Im thirsty between lectures and dont want to bother paying for things (plus by 3.30 itd be closed anyway!)
Pirate Ferret is offline  
#15 Old 03-20-2008, 09:45 AM
Veggie Regular
 
LionSpirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate Ferret View Post

You come across as paranoid to me in a lot of your posts.

If it had cochineal in it it'd be on the label. (Unless it says "colourings" without specifying what they are - if a products red and does that i avoid it)

Not many drinks at all label themselves as vegetarian that i've noticed - in fact I can't think of one brand that does, maybe supermarket own brand stuff? Not that I buy many drinks aside from ice tea and water. oh and rubicon!



Im not being aggressive, "where the hell" is just how I speak (too much gratuitous swearing) and I guess it could come across that way sometimes so sorry if it seems it!

I guess it's the holiday so the SU bar won't be open for you to get a glass of water from - which is where I usually head when Im thirsty between lectures and dont want to bother paying for things (plus by 3.30 itd be closed anyway!)



How do I come across as paranoid? And there are loads of other animal products that could be hidden in flavourings - and unless it's a major allergen, the manufacturer doesn't have to specify it, they can just hide it with the label 'flavourings'. The only drinks I've noticed that DON'T say vegetarian on them are ones made/owned by the Coca-cola, and "pure" drinks like "pure" orange juice from concentrate (though even more of them say veggie on em now), plus specialist drinks like Red Bull (but btw, even that says it's vegan on the website). Compare their simple "it's vegetarian and doesn't contain animal stuff" answer to Coca-cola's avoidance of an answer http://redbull.co.uk/en/ProductPage....ion?faqIndex=3
LionSpirit is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off