Started an animal rights meetup group for my city... - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-25-2010, 06:10 PM
Veggie Regular

Like the title says, I've started a meetup.com group for animal rights in my city. I've noticed that there seems to be nothing in my community for promoting animal rights and a veg*n diet. If I want to do any kind of activism I have to drive up to Seattle for it, which while it's great and all that it's being promoted in Seattle, it does nothing to change the minds of the people in my community. And I notice that a lot of people tend to wait for someone else to do something, so I said forget it I'll just start something here rather than sit on my hands and wait.

But I don't have any experience of running any sort of group. All I've ever done is animal rescue work and I'm a case manager with the rescue I'm with, but none of what I do with the rescue can really apply to an animal rights group.

So I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions on how to start and what to do? I want to get people out there leafletting and possibly do other activist work in the city. But I don't even know what good locations there would be for leafletting (other than college campuses vegan outreach style), farmers markets maybe? Also what other activism do you participate in other than leafletting to spread the word on animal issues and animal rights?

Any suggestions, advice, tips, etc would be so greatly appreciated. If you wanna talk via PM also that's totally cool too!

As long as there are slaughterhouses there will be battlefields. - Leo Tolstoy
My blog -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-25-2010, 08:32 PM
Veggie Regular

I think it's great that you're taking the initiative to do this sort of thing. Rock on!!!!

Vegetarian since February 12, 2007
Vegan since October 7, 2008