Usually I'll make it into a nooch sauce - I get some water really hot, throw in some garlic powder, some salt, sometimes some rosemary, sometimes chipotle powder, sometimes liquid smoke, sometimes curry powder, whatever I feel like. Once I feel like all of those flavors have gotten around in the water enough (rosemary, especially) I'll stir in some nutritional yeast. It thickens the water up a lot, depending on how much you use. Oh, I bet coconut milk would taste good in there. Hmm... sometimes I'll put in some Earth Balance if my calorie limit allows it, haha.
I'll also sprinkle it over pasta too, just dry. I sprinkle it on a lot of stuff. A few days ago I threw some olive oil and balsamic vinegar into my mixed salad and sprinkled some nooch on top for a little bit of nuttiness.
All the theaters I have been to have dairy free popcorn. When going to a new theatre I always ask. I'd say I've probably asked around 7 theaters and all were vegan. I sometimes bring my own anyways because it usually costs about 6 dollars for a little bag.
Movie theatre popcorn = vegan. You could still check with the theater if you wanted, but I have seen the ingredients for theatres here (Empire theatres) and it is vegan. Even the topping stuff is. Sweet.
Wow, it's good to know that it's most likely vegan at the theaters near me. I always eat a little bit of popcorn when we go to the movies even though I'm not a huge fan. It's just not a movie without popcorn and Sour Patch Kids.
Yeah, it's funny that something so "junky" and all-American is (usually) vegan. People are always so suprised when I buy it, and it's expensive so I usually don't, but sometimes it makes a point to omni friends that YES, I'M VEGAN BUT I EAT "NORMAL" FOOD TOO!!!
Plus, I'm not even a big popcorn fan! I usually have one or two bites then let my kids have the rest...
I was so happy to learn that my local theaters (Regal and AMC) had vegan popcorn--even the "butter"!! I can't go to the movies without getting popcorn (it's up to $7.50 here, and I still get it ). That would have been one of the hardest things to give up!
Strangely enough, there are no vegan "butter" microwave popcorn options out there that I've been able to find. The one and ONLY vegan popcorn in the massive Publix popcorn section is Orville natural "Simply Salted."
Famous Players Theatres (Canadian, definitely in Montreal QC and London/Kitchener ON at least) use Becel topping on their popcorn, which is NOT vegan. Moreover, their popcorn kernels are pre-coated with a non-vegan flavouring. I had to play the "I'm allergic to dairy" card before anyone bothered to check the ingredients for me.
Good news: I've never had any trouble making snacks beforehand and smuggling them in. I even asked a manager about it and he said, as long as I don't bring it in its own name-brand carrier (like a branded plastic shopping bag or a takeout box) they won't confiscate it. Basically, he told me to stick it in my purse and take it out when I got to my seat.
Good news: I've never had any trouble making snacks beforehand and smuggling them in. I even asked a manager about it and he said, as long as I don't bring it in its own name-brand carrier (like a branded plastic shopping bag or a takeout box) they won't confiscate it. Basically, he told me to stick it in my purse and take it out when I got to my seat. [/QUOTE]
I haven't been to a movie theater in a long time but I used to go pretty regularly and I always smuggled in my own snacks.