Help! Vegan Food Options in Indian Restaurant? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 01-31-2009, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
EmmeV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Hello there,



I love Indian food, but as far as I know almost every dish contains Ghee. Can you give any recommendations?



Thanx,

Emme
EmmeV is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-31-2009, 08:11 AM
Veggie Regular
 
SquarePeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,712
The only thing I can recommend is go in and talk to the staff. I can't think of a single item (aside from rice) that won't have some form of dairy in it that would be served in a typical Indian restaurant.



But honestly veganism is a concept that is very hard for Indians to understand. Dairy is used in most everything in large part because of the religious significance of cows to Hindus.

I am the user formerly known as MrsKey
SquarePeg is offline  
#3 Old 01-31-2009, 09:51 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 11,550
ask the people cooking in each indian restaurant you go to. the cooks will know what you can have, cos like with any cook and any meal, whats in it, depends on exactly who put what in it.



maybe they've got something without ghee, maybe they can make you something with vegetable oil, maybe they're already using a vegetable oil based ghee-substitute on the quiet instead of ghee, cos its cheaper and tastes the same (lots of places round here do, and i've seen the ghee substitute in supermarkets so i know they're not inventing it).



but suggesting say.... onion bhajis, or pilau rice, is a risky business, cos who knows whether or not the chef at any specific place uses his own special favourite buttery variation on a recipe that i've never seen ghee in.
jeneticallymodified is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 01-31-2009, 02:33 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tofu-N-Sprouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11,049
The Indian restaurants around here have extensive vegetarian menus and most of it can be made vegan unless it has cheese in it. They use a "ghee-flavored oil" which is entirely vegetable based. (Except on some of their baked goods/naan, etc...).



Ask them which items can be made "pure vegetarian" which = vegan to most Indian cooks.
Tofu-N-Sprouts is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off