Veganism Unhealthy? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-28-2008, 02:54 PM

I'm new to this lifestyle, only recently cut all animal products from my life.

I have numerous people telling me that vegans need to take supplements so its unhealthy, and vegans are always sick. I'm paranoid about it because I have a ten month old who I will be raising vegan/vegetarian, and Im worried about making sure he gets the vitamins and nutrients he needs.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-28-2008, 03:03 PM

I'm also very curios on this subject. Info would be muyyyyy appreciated
#3 Old 12-28-2008, 03:31 PM
Veggie Regular

According to the American Dietetic Association a well planned vegan diet is healthy at any stage of life.

http://www.eatright.org/cps/rde/xchg...3_ENU_HTML.htm

The only supplement you should is B12 if you are eating well.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 12-28-2008, 04:33 PM
Veggie Regular

I think on these boards you will find lots of anecdotal evidence that a vegan diet is as healthy or healthier than a non-vegan diet. I can tell you that I haven't eaten meat, dairy or eggs in years and years and have been very healthy, and I'm sure many others here will echo that sentiment.

I believe there is a board on this website devoted to raising vegetarian families. You may want to check that out.
#5 Old 12-28-2008, 04:37 PM
Veggie Regular

There's already plenty of evidence that people are just fine on a vegan lifestyle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylie*esque View Post

I have numerous people telling me that vegans need to take supplements so its unhealthy

Do they think all supplements were made for vegans?

Quote:

and vegans are always sick.

Ask them how many vegans they've met and how many of those were always sick. Get specifics.

People say a lot of wacky things.

I believe everything.
#6 Old 12-28-2008, 04:42 PM
Veggie Regular

A B12 suppliment isn't a bad idea.