In charge of vegan meal on Friday - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-27-2008, 07:11 PM
Beginner

Ok so I got kinda roped into this one but its MY fault 'cuz I volunteered

I am a new ovo-lacto veggie (a few weeks into it). While at a brunch at a restaurant with a church group I recently joined I realized the two girls sitting near by were vegans (mentioned the french toast incident under another post).

Anyway so on Halloween before we go out we are cooking dinner for the homeless. Its my first time doing it (they do it once a month). The dish that was going to be prepared is Jambalaya. I emailed the leader and volunteered to help with a vegan dish for the other people and the homeless who might be vegetarian or have seafood allergies/pork restrictions.

So now she has put me in charge! LOL (this woman CLEARLY doesn't know my cooking limitations). She said they usually buy plain pasta and red sauce (which they have done). I am going to bring brown rice pasta for one of the girls who is gluten intolerant. Is there anything i should look for in the sauce that isn't vegan friendly? I know gelatin isn't (which isnt in sauce anyway), and cheese and rennet. Am I missing anything? I am not a vegan although I eat partially vegan sometimes. They bought the sauce already so I will just buy another one if there is something wrong with it. I think there are certain colorings that aren't vegan too (though I don't know why they would be in there either).

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-28-2008, 08:13 AM
Impeach the gangster

Have you thought about creating your own sauce?

"There is more wisdom in the song of a bird, than in the speech of a philosopher...." -Oahspe
"The thing is, you cannot judge a race. Any man who judges by the group is a pea-wit. You take men one at a time." -Buster Kilrain, The Killer Angels -Michael Shaara
"Anyone who doesn't believe in miracles isn't a realist." -Billy Wilder
#3 Old 10-28-2008, 08:34 AM
Beginner