I was doing my own thing quietly and YOU are the one who created this post trying to make a big deal out of it. Keep flaming the fire. That must be what you want.
And fortunately, lactic acid in most processed foods that contain it is not derived from lactose (milk sugar), but from bacterial fermentation of nondairy sources. But if you need to be 100% sure, mail the manufacturer.
Yum, the vinegar is nice hehe.
Woah, thanks, fan! I just went and checked... my pickled onions are ok... thank my lucky stars!!!! I LOVE pickled onions...
wikipedia says polysorbate 80 is made from oleic acid (which is in various animal and vegetable sources) and dehydrated sorbitol (a sugar alcohol). this seems to make it a 'maybe' depending on what the individual additive manufacturer made it from.
the vegan society puts it in the same classification (maybe vegan, maybe not).
i think the best plan would be to either:
a) contact the pickle people and ask them if their polysorbate 80 is vegetable derived, or animal derived (if they don't know, ask them for their suppliers contact info, so you can ask them).
b) try and find another brand of pickles thats made without this ingredient.
“May all sentient beings be free of pain and suffering. May all sentient beings experience eternal joy and happiness. gate gate pāragate pārasaṃgate bodhi svāhā.”