Traveling Vegan! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-21-2008, 02:30 AM

Hello everyone! I am new here yet I decided to bypass the intro thing and jump right into things! I am really new to veganism but I don't think I will ever turn back now! I am really set in my ways and thrilled that I made this choice!

Anyway, on to my question! Is anyone out there a big time traveler!?! Next summer I am going to be flying over to Spain, Italy, France and Scotland and I am kinda wondering what it will be like to be a vegan there. I have been to Scotland before but I wan't even a vegetarian then (I became one right after I went home though because my cousin up there was one). I have never been to the other places though and I am concerned about things like reading lables, eating out, etc. Is it doable!?! Do you have to mainly survive on fruits and veggies!?! Just kinda curious about gathering up some ideas now in preparation for later.

Thanks for any help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-21-2008, 02:33 AM
Veggie Regular

While you are at it - I'd love to hear any suggestions about Russia and Mongolia. I think I'll handle China, Germany and the Czech republic okay.
#3 Old 09-21-2008, 02:34 AM
Banned

Scotland = seriously easy to be vegan

France = very easy in Paris, not so easy outside of Paris

Italy = Easy in the big cities, less so in smaller towns.

Spain = Easy in Barcelona, less so elsewhere.

Happy Cow is your friend: http://www.happycow.net/europe/index.html
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 09-21-2008, 02:36 AM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by erin84 View Post

While you are at it - I'd love to hear any suggestions about Russia and Mongolia. I think I'll handle China, Germany and the Czech republic okay.

When I was in Moscow years ago I was staying in student accomodations and had access to a kitchen so I cooked my own food after shopping in markets and excellent bakeries. I still miss the bread there.