Confusion on Veganism - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread

#1 Old 08-11-2008, 10:15 AM
Banned

Ok, to get this out of the way this is not a pro-meat/pro-hunting post but is made in a genuine spirit of curiosity and desire for answers.

I've been told by a friend that I should try being Vegan, being a good friend I looked into it and I've come away with some confusion.

First, I dont fault people who are Vegan and make it work. However, from what I've seen, it seems that Veganism takes more time, energy, and money than most people are able/willing to devote to their diet to really follow it and stay healthy. How do you avoid nutritional deficiencies and other medical complications that can come from a lack of nutrients that meat provides?

Second, how can you totally replace all animal products with non-animal? I am a welder by trade and one of my key pieces of equipment is a leather jacket. Its made of thick treated leather that protects my skin from everything from UV damage to pieces of white hot steel falling on it. In the latter case it buys you a few seconds to get your arm out. Now there ARE plastics and treated cloths you can get for this purpose. But often they are extremely expensive and have a tendency to melt when exposed to high temperatures and also dont stand up to copious abuse well. In this case, leather really is the best and most cost effective material for the job.

Also, how are you really minimizing your impact on the animal kingdom? To grow crops, land must be cleared and habitats destroyed. So it seems, to me, that you aren't really alleviating pressure on the natural world, just shifting it to a less visible spectrum.

I really am interested in serious responses, thank you for your time
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-11-2008, 10:44 AM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shotgun Opera View Post