Why did you become vegan? Research! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-29-2008, 07:23 AM

Hello all!

I am a final year journalism student doing research for a project on animal rights, and Michael has graciously granted me permission to research on vegpeople.com. I'm especially interested in vegetarian/veganism and the specific and personal reasons which people become vegetarian/ vegan for. Please help me!

If you'd like to help me:

a) You are lovely.

b) Please reply to this post answering the following simple questions, elaborating as much as you like!

-Why did you become vegan? It'd be great if you could explain your personal reason. Is there a story behind it? Did somebody or something influence you? Was it some information you discovered? Also, if you moved from vegetarian to vegan, what was it that prompted the change?

Because this is for a journalism project, it'd be super super helpful to me if you could provide me with your name, age and what area you live in - it'd make more lively and interesting writing! Of course please feel free to private message me this information.

Thank you, immensely

Sarah
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-29-2008, 09:50 AM
Beginner

I'm Catriona, I live in Birmingham, UK and I'm 16.

I've been vegan for 7 months -- before that I was vegetarian for a year. I went vegetarian for environmental reasons after reading a couple of articles in New Scientist that talked about meat's carbon footprint. Eventually I started looking on websites like PETA, Viva! and finding out about the cruelty involved in the animal industry, and when the full extent of animal exploitation hit me I had to go vegan.

Nobody I knew at the time was even vegetarian, so the only influence I had was media and the internet. Most people weren't particularly supportive at first, either, until they realised just how committed I was.
#3 Old 04-29-2008, 10:33 AM
Veggie Regular

Hi Sarah, I'd be glad to help