Going from Omni, to Veggie..To Vegan??? Help!!! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-05-2008, 10:17 AM

Okay, so I am new to being an actual vegetarian, have been since late December. Dont really care for much meat anyhow. Well, I just read the book Skinny *****, and now I think that I really want to aim at becoming vegan! I thought I knew about the farming issues, but I wasn't aware of how bad they are! And I really didnt know just how unhealthy some of the dairy and such can be for you. I just hate the thought of putting chemicals like the pesticides and antibiotics in my body. My question is: do you think this is actually a doeable goal? I have nothing at all against what kind of veggie someone is, this is a personal decision for me. What are some foods that you guys reccommend? I am going to the grocery store later on today to revamp my kitchen with all sorts of good items. Any advice or tips I really apprecialte!... if anyone thinks it should be moved feel free!! Thanks sooo much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-05-2008, 11:23 AM
Veggie Regular

You've come to the right place. There are a few threads about starting veganism that you might want to read through.

I think I might go vegan...questions/concerns?

I'm a new VEGAN and I need HELP! (Please)

Weaning Off Dairy...The SUPPORT Thread!

I think being vegan is a very realistic goal, just take baby steps and learn as you go.
#3 Old 01-05-2008, 11:35 AM
Veggie Regular

My advice if you're going to be veggie before vegan is to use little dairy in your diet. The worst thing you can do is base your meals on egg or cheese because it will be so much harder to think of meals without. I went from omni straight to vegan. I found that as soon as I stopped eating meat and cheese I stopped having cravings for it. It was only when I was consuming it that my body wanted more. I don't know if that's the same for anyone else.