Vegan wine? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 01-20-2007, 09:56 PM
Newbie
 
lelab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
While not a vegan, I am a vegetarian who avoids gelatin. As an avid wine lover, I recently discovered that many wines are processed using gelatin (ewwwww....). I checked my local Earth Fare today and they carry no vegan wines. Anyone have a suggestion for where I can look in the Columbia, SC area? Or a brand recommendation for wines I can pick up online? Many thanks!
lelab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-20-2007, 10:10 PM
Veggie Regular
 
laurie15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 441
most wines are filtered with casein and eggs - you can contact them and see, and then you dont have to seek out vegan.
laurie15 is offline  
#3 Old 01-20-2007, 11:00 PM
Veggie Regular
 
joyinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 278
i didnt realize this!



i just googled and found this
joyinc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 01-20-2007, 11:06 PM
Banned
 
remilard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurie15 View Post

most wines are filtered with casein and eggs - you can contact them and see, and then you dont have to seek out vegan.



not really



the four most common finings are isinglass, gelatin, bentonite, and diatomeceous earth



I won't say that casein and eggs aren't used, but they are not common
remilard is offline  
#5 Old 01-20-2007, 11:21 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Trueveggie14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,112
Frey California Organic wine is Vegan. The Cabernet is okay, but avoid the "natural red". I really didn't care for that.



Wright New Zealand wines are vegan (not sure which stores, if any, carry it) http://www.wrightswines.co.nz/index.php?page=philosophy



Cygnus Wine Cellars in Maryland is vegan. I recommend the Port of Manchester. http://www.cygnuswinecellars.com/











online vegan wine retailers



http://www.ecowine.com/order.htm

- type in Vegan in the search menu.



http://www.freywine.com/freywine/order-here.html



http://www.mountaincovevineyards.com/

^ this is a Virginia winery that is vegan. I recommend the Skyline Rose and the Blackberry





Those I'm positive about. I've heard RUMOR that kosher wines might be vegan. I'm not sure though. Also keep in mind Organic does not = vegan. Some organics are still going to use the horrible animal product "fining".
Trueveggie14 is offline  
#6 Old 01-20-2007, 11:23 PM
Banned
 
remilard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trueveggie14 View Post

Some organics are still going to use the horrible animal product "fining".



gelatin is actually an excellent fining
remilard is offline  
#7 Old 01-20-2007, 11:25 PM
Newbie
 
lelab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks so much for the suggestions- I will check out those links.



I checked with the win manager at our local Earth Fare store and he said he used to carry a brand called "Organic Wine Works" that he *thought* was vegan, but he wasn't positive. I am having trouble verifying that online and would love to know if anyone can confirm. Thanks!
lelab is offline  
#8 Old 01-20-2007, 11:28 PM
Newbie
 
lelab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Sorry to double-post, but I found the confirmation as soon as I posted that.



http://members.cruzio.com/~oww/
lelab is offline  
#9 Old 01-21-2007, 12:04 PM
Beginner
 
CountryDreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 160
Though I don't drink, I read an article in VegNews not long ago that YellowTail wine (the bottles with the kangaroo on them) are vegan and can be found at most regular grocery stores.
CountryDreamer is offline  
#10 Old 01-21-2007, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
lelab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks so much for that tip CountryDreamer...I'll check them out!
lelab is offline  
#11 Old 01-21-2007, 10:09 PM
Veggie Regular
 
laurie15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by remilard View Post

not really



the four most common finings are isinglass, gelatin, bentonite, and diatomeceous earth



I won't say that casein and eggs aren't used, but they are not common



thank you. i'm quite allergic to both and perhaps the companies tell me that is the source to cover themselves in case things change - a lot of companies do that, unfortunately. thanks for the info, though! perhaps i'll find more.
laurie15 is offline  
#12 Old 01-22-2007, 05:14 AM
Newbie
 
pepper pig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 28
[QUOTE=lelab]While not a vegan, I am a vegetarian who avoids gelatin....



All vegetarians should not consume gelatin - or else they are not vegetarians, as far as i see it anyway
pepper pig is offline  
#13 Old 01-22-2007, 10:27 AM
Veggie Regular
 
laurie15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 441
[QUOTE=pepper pig]
Quote:
Originally Posted by lelab View Post

While not a vegan, I am a vegetarian who avoids gelatin....



All vegetarians should not consume gelatin - or else they are not vegetarians, as far as i see it anyway





out of curiousity, wouldn't gelatin fall more into the honey-ish area (and perhaps for make up and stuff, then in the leather and so on)? i know it's more 'to each their own', but if there were some sort of definition?
laurie15 is offline  
#14 Old 01-22-2007, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
kimmifb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
In one of my vegan books, gelatin is referred to as the "protein dissolved from bones, skin, hide trimmings, and tendons" of animals. So it is not vegetarian.
kimmifb is offline  
#15 Old 01-22-2007, 04:06 PM
Newbie
 
lelab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
As a veg, I draw the line at anything derived from the dead, so gelatin is a clear no-no for me, as are cheeses made with rennet, etc. But many veggies I know draw the line at not eating flesh and nothing more. All in how you see it I guess. My remark about being a no-gelatin veggie wa not made out of ignorance, but as a reflection of how the veggies I know define themselves.
lelab is offline  
#16 Old 01-22-2007, 04:53 PM
Veggie Regular
 
laurie15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 441
Thanks for the replies. It was out of curiousity. That's a good definition - gelatin (the actual stuff) isn't really something that crosses my mind. "Hmm... I wonder HOW they make it." Just something I knew was rank and 'knew' how they made it. If that makes sense.

Anyway.

Thanks.
laurie15 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off