Are MCdonalds/burger kings fries/ onion rings vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 06-23-2006, 07:30 AM
MJZ
Newbie
 
MJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 77
In case im out and want an unhealthy but at least vegan snack

d

I guess they only meat product would be possibly what they fry it in? and maybe somthing in the breading of onion rings likle egg? idk lol



If anyone knows if either of these are vegan please help
MJZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 06-23-2006, 07:34 AM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
I usually go to restaurants' websites to find ingredient information. If you have any questions about specific ingredients, the VBers here will be glad to help you
GhostUser is offline  
#3 Old 06-23-2006, 07:36 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Tesseract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,691
McDonald's fries are not vegan or vegetarian. The "natural flavoring" contains beef and dairy extracts.



Here's the McD's ingredients page:

http://www.mcdonalds.com/app_control...nts.index.html



BK's fries and onion rings appear to be vegan. Their ingredients list is more helpful than most, as they are careful to point out their natural flavors are from plant sources. They are also very clear that their veggie burger is NOT vegan, and is cooked in the microwave. But I should add that I'm not the most knowledgeable when it comes to mysterious food additives, and those onion rings are full of them.
Tesseract is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 06-23-2006, 07:52 AM
Veggie Regular
 
ketivnilloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 376
on the BK site it lists "gelatinized wheat starch" as an ingredient in the onion rings. I'm not really sure if that means geletin but it looks doubtable.
ketivnilloc is offline  
#5 Old 06-23-2006, 08:00 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Tesseract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,691
I don't think it means they literally add gelatin. To gelatinize something simply means to make it more like gelatin in structure, which is a matrix of long interlocked molecules. It can be done in a number of ways, and while it can be done by acually adding gelatin, I think they woud have to list the gelatin as a separate ingredient.



Edit: BTW, I just noticed this on the VRG website:

Quote:
Is the ingredient known as pre-gelatinized wheat starch vegetarian?



According to A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives: "When starch and water are heated the starch molecules burst and form a gelatin."



According to The Dictionary of Food Ingredients it is a starch that has been created by swelling wheat in cold water. It is also known as gelatinized wheat starch.



According to Food Chemistry: "Pregelatinized flour is made from ground cereals....and is sometimes blended with guar flour or alginates."



It appears to be a completely vegetarian product.

Tesseract is offline  
#6 Old 06-23-2006, 01:17 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tuffenoughtoroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 730
You gotta keep in mind that some restaurants and fast-food places fry their french fries and onion rings in the same vat of oil that they fry chicken strips etc. That's why you ask, as previously suggested.
Tuffenoughtoroc is offline  
#7 Old 06-23-2006, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
davoarid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 47
Burger King's "veggie burger" is from Morningstar Farms, whose products are not vegan. (At least at our local Burger King).



I would have bet the farm that Burger King fried everything in beef tallow. Are you sure about your information, Tesseract?
davoarid is offline  
#8 Old 06-23-2006, 01:28 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tuffenoughtoroc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by davoarid View Post

Burger King's "veggie burger" is from Morningstar Farms, whose products are not vegan. (At least at our local Burger King).



I would have bet the farm that Burger King fried everything in beef tallow. Are you sure about your information, Tesseract?





Yeah you can't even trust the veggie burgers there. They are cooked and prepared in the same area as the meat.
Tuffenoughtoroc is offline  
#9 Old 06-23-2006, 01:28 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuffenoughtoroc View Post

You gotta keep in mind that some restaurants and fast-food places fry their french fries and onion rings in the same vat of oil that they fry chicken strips etc. That's why you ask, as previously suggested.



Good point. I avoid fast food restaurants like the plague, because I never know what they cook their stuff with/in (and it's unhealthy, anyway. )
GhostUser is offline  
#10 Old 06-23-2006, 01:37 PM
Veggie Regular
 
rabid_child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,282
Aside from it being unhealthy, do you really want to support these dining establishments considering their ethics?!

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
rabid_child is offline  
#11 Old 06-23-2006, 01:37 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tesseract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by davoarid View Post

I would have bet the farm that Burger King fried everything in beef tallow. Are you sure about your information, Tesseract?

I read the ingredients directly off their website. I would have linked it, but it's all this annoying flash crap and it seems to be impossible to link directly to the ingredient page. Of course reading the ingredient list itself doesn't tell you anything about the oil they fry it in. I didn't see anything about that. Their main site is www.bk.com. Feel free to double-check me.



But regardless of what the website says about their frying materials and practices, you can't really trust it anyway, from what I hear, since many individual locations apparently disregard chain policy.



Edit: OK, I looked again and it does say all BK's fried products are fried in partially hydrogenated vegetable shortening (hey, nobody had any illusions this was healthy, right?), french fries are fried in their own fryer, but onion rings are fried together with pork, chicken and fish.
Tesseract is offline  
#12 Old 06-23-2006, 01:51 PM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Tess is correct, Burger King's fries and onion rings are both vegan now (years ago neither one was) and the fries are cooked in their own frier for those worried about cross-contamination.



The BK Veggie patty is not vegan because of egg whites, but they do cook them all in the microwave now for those concerned with cross-contamination.



McDonald's products all contain beef flavoring.

Wendy's fries are vegan, but are cooked in shared oil.
kpickell is offline  
#13 Old 06-23-2006, 01:55 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tesseract's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by kpickell View Post

Tess is correct, Burger King's fries and onion rings are both vegan now (years ago neither one was) and the fries are cooked in their own frier for those worried about cross-contamination.



The BK Veggie patty is not vegan because of egg whites, but they do cook them all in the microwave now for those concerned with cross-contamination.



McDonald's products all contain beef flavoring.

Wendy's fries are vegan, but are cooked in shared oil.

Well, where were you six hours ago? You could have saved us a lot of running around! :hands on hips:





So what about Jack in the Box, Mr. Knowledgeable?
Tesseract is offline  
#14 Old 06-23-2006, 02:00 PM
Veggie Regular
 
codemonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,511
I'm not sure about the Jack-in-the-box fries but you can get the Southwest pita without the chicken. It's yummy.
codemonkey is offline  
#15 Old 06-23-2006, 02:02 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Spidergrrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,929
I remember vaguely some controversy about mcDonalds in India where they claimed that "Mcdonalds tastes the same all over the world because we use the same flavourings everywhere" and Hindus rioted because they were told that fries were beef free but then they turned out not to be. I remember reading somewhere (Fast Food Nation???? maybe) that fries had no beef/dairy in countries with high Hindu populations but were fried in beef tallow in countries like Mexico where it was considered more "macho" to eat things like that. I always assumed that fries in the US were not OK and fries in the UK were OK but now I'm not so sure (and I only eat Mcdonalds fries every 6 months or so anyway)



Anyone else heard of this or am I just completely mad?

****I have a blog--check me out!
http://spidergrrlvstheworld.blogspot.com/****
Spidergrrl is offline  
#16 Old 06-23-2006, 03:07 PM
Newbie
 
DianeKelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
I did my research and McFries are definitely not vegetarian (beef products added).
DianeKelly is offline  
#17 Old 06-23-2006, 03:07 PM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesseract View Post

Well, where were you six hours ago? You could have saved us a lot of running around! :hands on hips:





So what about Jack in the Box, Mr. Knowledgeable?

I can't help that I survive on fast food. (Well, I could help it, but who would want to!?)



Sorry, there are no Jack In The Boxes where I live, so I've never bee to one or looked to see what they offer. Most fast food restaurants do put complete ingredient listings on line these days though.





Spider, McDonald's has their ingredient listings online for every country they are in. The fries in the US and Canada have beef flavoring. The fries in the UK are vegan. Those are the only countries I've looked at, since that question comes up so often, but you could find out about more countries by going to their website.
kpickell is offline  
#18 Old 06-23-2006, 05:18 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Vegnik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 282
As some have said, you really can't trust McDeath, Murder King, or their greasy associates. It also depends what country you're in, who owns and manages the franchise and how much they care, and how careful they are. I can't stand the smell of those places of ill repute....
Vegnik is offline  
#19 Old 06-23-2006, 06:57 PM
Veggie Regular
 
UseHerName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 330
http://www.shapefit.com/mcdonalds.html



I absolutely cannot believe I used to put that many calories into my body. Disgusting..





EDIT:: Oh, and for more..

http://www.shapefit.com/fastfood.html
UseHerName is offline  
#20 Old 06-23-2006, 07:16 PM
Veggie Regular
 
kpickell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 16,090
One thing to keep in mind is that fast food companies change their ingredients fairly frequently, so it's good to visit their website for up-to-date information before going somewhere. All the ingredients and nutritional information is right on the website.
kpickell is offline  
#21 Old 04-20-2010, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
LadyBaltimore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 47
None of it is vegan for sure. And prepped in the same area as the meat. The onion rings probably have dairy, and who knows whats been in that grease!
LadyBaltimore is offline  
#22 Old 04-20-2010, 01:31 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7,981
Wow a thread from 2006!
MrFalafel is offline  
#23 Old 04-20-2010, 01:56 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFalafel View Post

Wow a thread from 2006!



Necro threads are scary, I was apply to reply to the OP, lol.
KrisMTL is offline  
#24 Old 04-20-2010, 09:38 AM
Newbie
 
molshay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 37
In Canada Mcdonald's fries are vegan. They don't contain any beef seasoning.
molshay is offline  
#25 Old 04-22-2010, 03:23 AM
Newbie
 
boomina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 31
i agree with the others burger king and mcdonalds cook all of their products in animal fat.

i do not buy ANY of their products considering the ethnics !

i will not even buy a drink.
boomina is offline  
#26 Old 04-22-2010, 03:43 AM
Administrator
 
Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 19,873
This thread is 4 years old. I'm going to close it.

VeggieBoards Alumni Facebook Group

If you're an old time VB'er stop by and say hi!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Michael is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off