• 3 Post By leedsveg
  • 1 Post By BlueMts
  • 1 Post By vegan4peace
  • 1 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By vegan4peace
  • 1 Post By Jamie in Chile
  • 2 Post By vegan4peace

#1 Old 06-10-2017, 01:24 PM

Why have so many vegans forgotten what veganism is about?

Hello kind people,

This is a post that I hope many will gain a new perspective from or perhaps further cement one that you already had. I've been a vegan for about 2 years, and in this time I've began to work as an animal rights activist as well, giving speeches and educating others on as many occasions as I can. I'm a full time college student, so often it's difficult to manage such a busy schedule along with activism. However in the future I have plans to dramatically increase the time I devote to activism.

I've come to notice something with the "Vegan community" that is concerning to me, and I think it's something that needs to be hashed out and discussed before veganism becomes something which it should never be. I've been guilty of this myself from time to time, and so I can relate to the underlying psychology which causes it.

Veganism, to many people have become about food, and not ethics, though I don't think that people are aware that they are committing such a fallacy. Let me explain. As an example, I've seen vegans debating and obsessing endlessly about whether something as minor as white sugar is vegan since it's processed with bone char, usually from the bones of slaughtered cows. Now while I find this practice to be completely idiotic and unnecessary, it's not something that vegans should spend too much time thinking or talking about, and especially acting as if all vegans shouldn't consume white sugar or you're really not a vegan.