• 3 Post By oldmanveggie
  • 3 Post By Thalassa
  • 2 Post By BlueMts
  • 3 Post By thewolf
  • 2 Post By Spudulika
  • 1 Post By Jamie in Chile

#1 Old 05-22-2017, 01:08 PM
Beginner

How restrictive are you in consuming plant based oils?

Hi all.

Before I started practicing the vegan lifestyle, I wasn't aware that even within veganism, some vegans may not consume the exact group of foods that other vegans do.

Now that I have read more about vegans and the whole foods, plant based diet, one thing I will have to keep track of is the consumption of oils. For most of my life I was taught by the media that plant oils like olive oil were exceptionally healthy.

But in reading studies by doctors such as Esselstyn, oils in general, even plant oils, are not healthy for your body at all.

I'm starting to read the ingredients labels of some of the foods I have bought, and noticed how many of them have some sort of oil in it. Soybean oil, canola oil, olive oil, etc.

How do you, as a vegan, deal with this? Are you strict about consuming little to no oils?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-22-2017, 01:48 PM
Veggie Regular

I have no problems consuming oil, but I try to use little, although I think "little" is subjective.
I will drizzle a pan to cook foods without them sticking or sautee onion. I would say 1/2 to 1 tablespoon daily. For some people, that would be a lot.

"We have enslaved the rest of the animal creation, and have treated our distant cousins in fur and feathers so badly that beyond doubt, if they were able to formulate a religion, they would depict the Devil in human form." - William Ralphe Inge

Last edited by jessandreia; 05-22-2017 at 01:59 PM.
#3 Old 05-22-2017, 02:59 PM
Super Moderator

vegan means you avoid foods and products that are made from using animals.
You don't need to eat healthy to be vegan. Most pop and fries are vegan, even those at fast food places