The surroundings are weirding me out - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By Maara
  • 1 Post By David3
  • 1 Post By David3

#1 Old 01-25-2017, 09:59 AM

The surroundings are weirding me out

Hello everyone, I know I'm very new to this, not even completely vegan yet (I'm getting there).
Quick background: I went lacto-ovo-pescetarian in september, I wasn't really planning on eating either dairy or fish at the time (was aiming for ovo-vegetarian) but I ended up being quite "chill" about it and ate whatever was served to me unless it was any other meat than fish.
Now: I was planning on transitioning slowly to vegan over february to make it less of a shock for my family that I eat with quite often, but I've found myself more and more weirded out by meat and especially dairy products. Suddenly all the recipes with meat look weird to me, my brother pouring up yoghurt looks weird, my grandmother laughing while saying what she will eat later (meat) feels weird, the milk in my parents fridge is weird, why is there sour cream in this lunch box? It is like I'm standing inside a bubble and looking out, on others, who all are cheerfully eating things that now feels completely barbaric to me, and it is everywhere. I haven't been able to eat anything offered to me since last week, it just feels too weird and wrong. I don't like going to the store anymore, I just end up staring at products and leaving empty handed.

I guess this transition is going to be faster than I thought, at least when it comes to food.

Is this something that hits everyone when they decide to go vegan? I knew very well that I was eating animals etc before, I have not really learned anything new more than that I'm able to live just fine without it. I guess I don't know why I feel so weird about it all, empty in a sense.

I'm not sure what i wanted with this all, to "get it out", maybe.
Thalassa likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 01-25-2017, 10:40 AM
Veggie Regular