• 1 Post By silva
  • 1 Post By JulieAngelica
  • 1 Post By Lipps
  • 2 Post By JulieAngelica
  • 1 Post By Lipps
  • 1 Post By JulieAngelica

#1 Old 12-06-2016, 01:50 AM

Vegan Photographer's Ethics

Hi, everyone. I have an ethical question. I've been vegetarian for 9 months and vegan for 4 months now. I abstain from animal products and try to buy cruelty-free cosmetics.

Beside my day job, I'm a part-time photographer (digital, in case anyone asks). Recently, I've been offered to make an advertising photoshoot for my friends, two stay-at-home moms, who are starting a business. They are hand-crafting and selling knitted blankets from this "oversized" yarn. The only problem is they use merino wool. I've asked them about the source and they cannot say for sure if it's cruelty-free. I've seen PETA's films and information on the wool industry and I feel very upset.

On the other hand, I'm just a photographer, not the producer or seller. There is this issue of separating the professional tasks from our private opinions. Moreover, even though I'm afraid photographing their stuff might be inconsistent with my views, I'm sure I do lots of other inconsistent things on everyday basis, like using electronics and perhaps buying some non-fair-trade items (more or less unknowingly). Also, I know that my friends are trying to live reponsible lives, and their business would be a small and local one, which is good, I think. I'm scared of becoming too extreme.

So my question is: Do you think I should I take the job?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-06-2016, 02:00 AM
Beginner

I know of a baker who specializes in wedding cakes that could possibly give you some perspective on just such a moral dilemma.

The symbol of the race ought to be a human being carrying an ax, for every human being has one concealed about him somewhere, and is always seeking the opportunity to grind it.
- Mark Twain, a Biography
#3 Old 12-06-2016, 02:13 AM