Why vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
  • 2 Post By SteveW
  • 1 Post By Lyn
  • 1 Post By BobJustBob

#1 Old 03-02-2016, 03:23 AM

Why vegan?

I'm a college student and I'm researching why people make the decision to go vegan. It's just for a report, nothing official. I'm vegan myself and I started because of environmental concerns and ethical reasons (animal cruelty).
Thank you

Last edited by elihara; 03-02-2016 at 09:04 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-02-2016, 05:10 AM

Ethical reasons for me. Although I was vegetarian for many years. Once I saw footage of male chicks being ground up alive I couldn't get the image out of my head and knew I had to go vegan.

Environmental and health and any other reasons are added bonuses!
#3 Old 03-02-2016, 08:35 AM
vegan since Sept. 2014

Started for health concerns but swiftly became, and continues to be, mostly for ethical reason.

Became a vegan on September 2014, best decision ever!
I know humans consider it a grave insult to be called an animal. Well, I would never give a human the fine distinction of being called an animal, because an animal may kill to live but an animal never lives to kill. Humans have to earn the right to be called animals again.”
― David Duchovny, Holy Cow
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 03-02-2016, 08:45 AM

I was initially vegetarian for ethical reasons, and became vegan for environmental reasons (at first). It didn't take long for me to realize the ethical implications of consuming animal products. Honey was actually one of the first things I eliminated completely for ethical reasons (I have a vegetarian friend who thinks that is crazy, but whatever).

YouTube:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blog:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Twitter:

Veganism is not a sacrifice, it's a joy.
- Gary L. Francione
#5 Old 03-02-2016, 01:05 PM